Dual ethernet A/B switch box?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macstatic, Aug 15, 2017.

  1. macstatic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #1
    I want to switch Ethernet and phone lines between two rooms and found cheap manual switch boxes on eBay for this (search for "ethernet manual switch" within eBay) which should do the job, such as the ones pictured below:
    [​IMG]
    So I need to get two of these (one for Ethernet, one for the phone line) but I was wondering if anyone knows of a single box with two separate switching circuits within? Basically a single physical box but with the functionality of two boxes.

    Also, the same thing (two separate switching circuits) but with a single switch (so that both the phone line and network connection can both be switched simultaneously, but still as two separate things).
     
  2. macstatic thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #2
    Although I couldn't find one to handle both telephone and Ethernet at once I found this one which is made of metal and (unlike the one picture above) has all its ports on the back. It says it works for both Ethernet and telephone, so I've ordered two and will just stack them on top of each other and label the switches to their functions. Should be simple to use and tidy with the wires all on the back :)
    switchbox1.png switchbox2.png
     
  3. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #3
    those appear to only have RJ-45 jacks (normal ethernet plugs)

    home telephone is RJ-11, while the plugs will fit, and it will probably work, you have to make sure it's lined up properly, and the locking can be a bit finicky.

    the telephone in the description of the item is probably referring to office style systems that use the RJ-45 plugs.


    may i ask why you're doing it this way?
    you can get a network switch for about $20 to handle the ethernet,
    and for the phone, you can get a simple splitter for a couple bucks.
    doing it this way will allow access in both rooms at the same time without having to switch it
     
  4. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #4
    Be aware, that it is only 100Mbps. Så depending on your setup, it might severely limit your network speed.
     
  5. macstatic thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #5
    Ouch! I wasn't fully aware of those matters.
    I'll give them a go and if they're not up to the task I'll take up wav74's advice which sounds like a better solution.

    By adding a network switch, would I notice a difference in lower speed when the computer in the other room isn't attached or used, or would it make no difference at all?
     
  6. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #6
    It will only affect the traffic which passes through it. If connected to a switch, your other devices can have full Gigabit speed. Only when they are communicating with something on the other side of the switch box are the speed affected.

    Else you could consider getting a gigabit switch box instead. Though they might be a bit more expensive.
     

Share This Page