Dual FirePro w7000 in Mac Pro 4.1/5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lexR, Dec 24, 2014.

  1. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Ok I started a post yesterday with regard to 3D modelling and FCPX/Motion work and since then I have been searching the net for the "best" GPU solution for my cMP (without addition PSU). I have looked into the FirePro workstation cards like the W7000 which has a max power demand of 150w and only takes a single height space (heat dissipation) and a single 6 pin power connection, (75w from PCI + 75w from 6 pin connection) and I'm wondering if ANYONE has ever done this? Restrictions? Full PCI 2.0 usage? Results? I could do this set up for under £600 ($1000) but is that the "best" solution as there are talks of the R9 380 coming out in February?

    Really gratefully of any theoretical assumptions and real world results.
     
  2. EdDuPlessis, Dec 24, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2014

    EdDuPlessis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #2
    The Radeon 3xx series are rumoured to be 205w according to unconfirmed leaked specs. You will only be able to install one without an external power supply.

    You could safely install two W7000 but at 300w total there would be little power left for other PCIE devices when the GPUs are operating at peak.

    I think you should go for the single Radeon 3xx series. The real world performance will be similar and the health of your Mac will be much more stable and longer.
     
  3. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Thanks mike I saw that a while ago but that's not really what I was after as that requires hacking the GPU with new bios and I've never done that before, there's something's I can do and other I haven't tried yet and that's one I havent... And possibly won't try for some time,

    ----------

    Yeah I'm leaning towards that but would a single newer, advanced card beat a dual set up of W7000?
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #5
    I'd have a look through driver kexts and see what device ids are supported.
     
  5. EdDuPlessis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #6
    Judging from benchmarks yes. A W7000 is around the same speed as a 7870. The new 3xx series look like they would beat a 7870 SLI set up.
     
  6. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Ahhh ok, have you ever come across this kind of set up with the single height W7000 workstation cards? MVC?

    ----------

    That's the sort of thing that is good to know, I'm happy to wait but just eager to get my setup process working a bit more streamlined
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    You need to look in the kexts. If the ids aren't there you will have nothing. You can do this right this second, just dig and look. In the past I never found real Fire-Pro cards in the drivers.

    This is why nMP has used device ids of street gaming cards instead of real Fire-Pro.

    Don't be afraid, they are either there or not. Right click is the key, combined with some googling.
     
  8. EdDuPlessis, Dec 24, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2014

    EdDuPlessis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #9
    Drawing power from the SATA ports in addition to PCIE power. I'm currently googling reports and trying to make a survey of this kind of internal powering but not enough long term reports right now to see if the above method is safe

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1831064

    If it is possible to power a single graphics card from 1x75w PCIE slot, 1x75w 6pin, and 1x50w SATA to 6pin - that's a combined 200w. Which means it might be possible to power two new generation graphic cards using internal power alone if you sacrifice two SATA bays. GTX 980 SLI or R9 380 Crossfire. But we still need to confirm safe long term use of those SATA power connectors or if a one of the 6pin connectors on a graphics card will work if it draws less than 75w from a SATA.
     
  9. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    i cannot find anything... which might be why i have had no luck with finding examples of people doing this... seems really odd though that the 'workstation' cards from AMD don't work in the Mac Pro.. 'workstation'.

    really thought i had cracked it there, dual cards running onboard PSU with 8GB of GPU ram, recommended and approved by Autodesk and parent cards of the D series cards in the nMP... but i guess its not to be... :(
     

Share This Page