MP 1,1-5,1 Dual GPU MP 1,1 Need help

Nicholas Bigatel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 17, 2020
6
0
I've combed through all the old threads trying to find an answer, please direct me to the appropriate place if my question has been answered.
I'm running a 2007 Mac Pro (Specs Below), That I am attempting to add a second graphics card so that I can run 3 monitors in my recording studio. The first card is GeForce GT120 (Slot 2) and the new one is a Geforce 8800 GT (Slot 1 with 6 pin power hookup). Both work independently but i cant get them to work simultaneously. I have reset my PRam and SMC and tried different PCI Express Profiles but can't get them to fire up together. When they are both in, only the GT120 works no matter what PCI slot it is in and it wont boot if a monitor is plugged into the 8800.

Current PCI express profile: two x8 lanes (1&2)

What am I missing here? Help please.

OS: 10.10.5 Yosemite
Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number of Processors: 2
Total Number of Cores: 4
2 Cache (per Processor): 4 MB
Memory: 32 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
 

AlexMaximus

macrumors 6502a
Aug 15, 2006
912
278
A400M Base
Where did you get the 8800 GT card? -> There has been two different versions of the Mac Edition 8800 card. -> one for the MP 1.1 and one for the MP 3.1. If you have the wrong one, it might be the source of the problem. -> my two cents, check out the version numbers/stickers/firmware.. worth a shot...
 

Snow Tiger

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2019
854
570
I've combed through all the old threads trying to find an answer, please direct me to the appropriate place if my question has been answered.
I'm running a 2007 Mac Pro (Specs Below), That I am attempting to add a second graphics card so that I can run 3 monitors in my recording studio. The first card is GeForce GT120 (Slot 2) and the new one is a Geforce 8800 GT (Slot 1 with 6 pin power hookup). Both work independently but i cant get them to work simultaneously. I have reset my PRam and SMC and tried different PCI Express Profiles but can't get them to fire up together. When they are both in, only the GT120 works no matter what PCI slot it is in and it wont boot if a monitor is plugged into the 8800.

Current PCI express profile: two x8 lanes (1&2)

What am I missing here? Help please.

OS: 10.10.5 Yosemite
Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number of Processors: 2
Total Number of Cores: 4
2 Cache (per Processor): 4 MB
Memory: 32 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
Hmmm ... not certain why you are having issues with the two GPUs .

But your Mac would just love to have an EFI ATI 5770 installed . You'll get all three channels of video with one mini DP active ( powered ) adapter in use . The other two can have direct passive connections or adapters . Two mini DP and one DL DVI is the Apple card you want , looks like this :

5770refaa.jpg

- - Post merged: - -

Where did you get the 8800 GT card? -> There has been two different versions of the Mac Edition 8800 card. -> one for the MP 1.1 and one for the MP 3.1. If you have the wrong one, it might be the source of the problem. -> my two cents, check out the version numbers/stickers/firmware.. worth a shot...
Yeah ... only the 32 bit version of the 8800 will work in his model . His GT 120 is definitely 64 bit . That might be the source of the conflict - trying to run 32 bit and 64 bit cards at the same time .

The 64 bit version of the 8800 will not work in this model at all .
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Nicholas Bigatel

Nicholas Bigatel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 17, 2020
6
0
Where did you get the 8800 GT card? -> There has been two different versions of the Mac Edition 8800 card. -> one for the MP 1.1 and one for the MP 3.1. If you have the wrong one, it might be the source of the problem. -> my two cents, check out the version numbers/stickers/firmware.. worth a shot...
I got it used on eBay. I’ll try to find the model number thanks.
- - Post merged: - -

Hmmm ... not certain why you are having issues with the two GPUs .

But your Mac would just love to have an EFI ATI 5770 installed . You'll get all three channels of video with one mini DP active ( powered ) adapter in use . The other two can have direct passive connections or adapters . Two mini DP and one DL DVI is the Apple card you want , looks like this :

View attachment 889308
- - Post merged: - -



Yeah ... only the 32 bit version of the 8800 will work in his model . His GT 120 is definitely 64 bit . That might be the source of the conflict - trying to run 32 bit and 64 bit cards at the same time .

The 64 bit version of the 8800 will not work in this model at all .
This makes sense.. a bummer but makes sense.
 

Nicholas Bigatel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 17, 2020
6
0
Hmmm ... not certain why you are having issues with the two GPUs .

But your Mac would just love to have an EFI ATI 5770 installed . You'll get all three channels of video with one mini DP active ( powered ) adapter in use . The other two can have direct passive connections or adapters . Two mini DP and one DL DVI is the Apple card you want , looks like this :

View attachment 889308

If I were to get one of these would it need flashed?
 

Snow Tiger

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2019
854
570
Hmmm ... not certain why you are having issues with the two GPUs .

But your Mac would just love to have an EFI ATI 5770 installed . You'll get all three channels of video with one mini DP active ( powered ) adapter in use . The other two can have direct passive connections or adapters . Two mini DP and one DL DVI is the Apple card you want , looks like this :

View attachment 889308

If I were to get one of these would it need flashed?
Nope . it's a real Mac Edition with boot screen and EFI functions .

That's the beauty of obtaining the EFI ATI 5770 card - it works with all the cMPs . There is a minimum macOS version requirement , though - I think it's Snow Leopard 10.6.4 .

- - Post merged: - -

I just ordered a second 8800 gt. Will update when it it arrives.
I hope your seller knows the difference between the 32 bit ( 2006-07 Mac Pro ) version and the 64 bit ( 2008 Mac Pro ) version of this card . They are very hard to tell apart . You need 32 bit . The 64 bit version is incompatible with your Mac . Check the APN first .
- - Post merged: - -
 
Last edited:

Nicholas Bigatel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 17, 2020
6
0
I got my second 8800 installed and everything works great now. My Money is on the 32/64 bit compatibility between the 8800 and the 120. Thanks for replying folks.
 

Alex.Toronto

macrumors newbie
Feb 4, 2020
3
0
Sorry this is off topic for your post, but I would love to know how you got your 1,1 up to Yosemite! Did you have to replace the processors? I have a Mac Pro 1,1 with 2 Dual-core intel xeon processors (3.0). Any links or advice you might have would be appreciated! My computer is less and less useful by the day because it's stuck at 10.6.8.
 

Nicholas Bigatel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 17, 2020
6
0
Sorry this is off topic for your post, but I would love to know how you got your 1,1 up to Yosemite! Did you have to replace the processors? I have a Mac Pro 1,1 with 2 Dual-core intel xeon processors (3.0). Any links or advice you might have would be appreciated! My computer is less and less useful by the day because it's stuck at 10.6.8.
I can’t remember the exact process I think there was a modified boot file and maybe a modified copy of the OS installation. It was pretty quick to find with google “yosemite mac pro 1,1”

also here’s an update of my workstation after my new gpus
DB350397-5A7B-4517-A6DE-BE581FD9FDDE.jpeg
 

Snow Tiger

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2019
854
570
Sorry this is off topic for your post, but I would love to know how you got your 1,1 up to Yosemite! Did you have to replace the processors? I have a Mac Pro 1,1 with 2 Dual-core intel xeon processors (3.0). Any links or advice you might have would be appreciated! My computer is less and less useful by the day because it's stuck at 10.6.8.
Ah , 10.6.8 ... that was a fine vintage . The very last real desktop Mac OS .

But , if you must , there is a firmware upgrade utility to turn your Mac Pro 1,1 into a 2,1 . Perform this firmware upgrade first , before the other upgrades below .


And it would be a good idea once you did , to install a pair of X5365s ( 2 x Quad 3.0 GHz ) .


And buy an EFI ATI 5770 graphics card - there's a picture of one earlier in this thread .


And buy some extra memory . You can install a 64 GB ( 8 x 8GB ) 667 MHz DDR2 FB kit in your Mac .

8GB = Samsung M395T1K66AZ4-CE66


And a 2.5" SATA SSD , with a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter .

The Yosemite installer info is found here :

 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.