Dual hex cpus in a 2009 mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hammten, May 5, 2011.

  1. hammten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #1
  2. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #2
  3. hammten thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #3
    Yeah i did think that as well, but i thought i remembered seeing a thread talking about flashing the 09 to take hex cpus. My biggest thing with the auction is he has no actual pics and also no reserve at 1500 when that machine easily cost much more!
     
  4. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    it never worked out

    and anyway, there is hardly any profit to buy a mac, upgrade cpu, and then resell on ebay

    smells like scam
     
  5. fabriciom, May 6, 2011
    Last edited: May 6, 2011

    fabriciom macrumors 6502

    fabriciom

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #5
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Considering that that person posted "Seems fake" in this thread (post #2), I highly doubt that he's the seller. :rolleyes:
     
  7. fabriciom macrumors 6502

    fabriciom

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #7
    Are you saying that nanofrog is a faker too? If you look at his threads I think he was one of the first people in the forum to get an ES chip in a 2009 model. Thanks to this I was able to upgrade my 2,26ghz to 3,2ghz.
    Also beto2k7 background info says he is a CS Engineer and has a 2009 2,26ghz. So asumming he has the knowledge to get the EFI from his 2010 (sig) and into the older 2009. He might as well be the seller.
     
  8. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    You can make your 2009 to a 2010 mac pro by replacing the daughterboard (atleast I think that was it) and then use any 2010 compatible CPU's.

    But there is no software way of replacing the EFI on any Mac, as it's hardcoded to not allow updates.

    He might as well be the seller? Why would he say that the auction is fake then? [​IMG]
     
  9. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
  10. fabriciom macrumors 6502

    fabriciom

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #10
    Where you able to get a B1 6 core on your 2009?
     
  11. JeepGuy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Barrie
    #11
    I was under the impression that you had to change the backplane as well to use westmere processors in a 2009 MP
     
  12. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    yeah backplane, that was it
     
  13. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
  14. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Where did I ever say that either one of the bespoken persons here is fake? :confused:

    I never did such a thing and neither did you grasp the idea behind my post.
    Why would someone who sells this machine on ebay, say that it is fake? Doesn't make any sense, does it?


    And just FYI, nanofrog does not have a 2009 Mac Pro (in fact he uses a PC), therefore probably never put an ES chips in it. IIRC, gugucom was the first user here to mod the 2009 Pro in terms of processors.
     
  15. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    Really? I'm confused. What is happening when I run a Mac Pro firmware update from Apple? Is that a different firmware than the EFI firmware?
     
  16. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #16
    1st, to even manipulate the efi firmware flasher requires extreme reverse engineering or access to source

    but the hardest part is that when apple releases final EFI update, noted by the addition of _locked in the filename of the EFI image, it prevents any further updates being made. the only way to flash the EFI firmware at that stage, is using the EFI Restore CD. But that only works if the EFI firmware is corrupt or missing.
     
  17. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #17
    This and the EFI Firmware Update utility shipped for example in EFI firmware update 1.5 for 2010 mac pro will only work with the firmware device (EFI update) bundled with it and 2010 mac pro models. @Cindori: The _locked suffix is only to prevent you from flashing a lower version.
     
  18. fabriciom macrumors 6502

    fabriciom

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #18
    >Considering that that person posted "Seems fake" in this thread (post #2), I highly doubt that he's the seller.

    nanofrog: I take it you tried a B1 stepped DP processor capable of running memory at 1333MHz successfully then.

    How does that "seem fake"?
     
  19. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #19
    Again I am not the seller.
     
  20. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Seriously? I rest my case.
     
  21. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #21
    this can be done and has been done using 2009 boards.
     

Share This Page