Dual Macs connected

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rita22, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. rita22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I just bought an iMac 24" I love it! I still have my 2004 Power Book laptop. This might be a stupid question, but I was wondering if I could somehow connect the two (like dual monitors), but have them run on their own systems? Does that make sense? So, I could still use my old programs and keep things on my older laptop; but just transfer it over if I need to use anything and not have to place it on a thumb drive.

    If not... could I use my laptop as an additional screen? Would it delete everything that I have on my laptop?

    Thanks for bearing with me!
    Rita
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    You can't use the computers together.
    You can't use just the monitor.

    If anything you can do screen sharing to control the Powerbook from the iMac. Its simple enough to setup just turn on Remote Access iin the Sharing Prefs and use the Go Menu> Connect and dial in the computer name of the computer (the sharing prefs should tell you the specific name).
     
  3. rita22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #3
    Aww man... Thanks.

    Now if I do screen sharing, will that make everything on my Powerbook inaccessible? And if I wanted something off of my Powerbook, how would I get it?
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Screen Sharing is exactly that, sharing your screen with another computer. You will see your PB screen show up in a window on your iMac. To get files you can literally drag them from your PB over to your iMac. Although the fastest way is to just mount your PB hard drive on your iMac, and even faster is just do an FTP connection. All of these are very easy to do.
     
  5. rita22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
  6. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #6
    There is an application which is able to use a Mac or Windows computer's screen as a screen for another Mac. I believe it is done over the network.
     
  7. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    Yeah "Synergy". Good luck on getting that working.
     
  8. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
  9. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    Thanks for the link.

    Was there also a software, that let's you use another Mac's display as an extended display for the "not other" Mac?

    Example: You have got an iMac and a PowerBook, and you want to use the iMac's Display as an extended desktop for the PowerBook.

    It is something done via LAN I think.
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    I think it was ScreenRecycler
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #12
    Thank you very much. That is the program I meant.

    Do you or does anyone else know, if it uses the client's graphics adapter or the server's?
    (iMac is used as client, the PowerBook is used as server, meaning being the Mac your run from....)
     
  12. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #13
    It doesn't send the raw data to be processed by the other GPU, even FW800 doesn't have that kind of bandwidth, it sends the processed image to be displayed.
     
  13. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #14
    Thanks, I didn't think of that.

    It even sounds logical, when one thinks about it.
     

Share This Page