Dual monitor calibration

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mavericks7913, Sep 5, 2017.

  1. mavericks7913 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    I know how to calibration a monitor but never tried dual monitor calibration and Im getting different and inaccurate results for one of the monitor. Im using Palette Master Element and i1display pro to calibrate both montiro one by one. I get ICC profile but the brightness of both monitors are differnet. Any idea?
     
  2. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #2
    Is it two Sw2700pt's you are calibrating?
     
  3. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    Yes
     
  4. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #4
    So when you open PM with does it open a dialogue box where you can see two monitors listed or open a dialogue box on each?
    From there it should be just a case of following the wizard.
    If your still stuck I'll set a couple up at work and test them.
     
  5. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    Well when I select monitor 1, the calibration plate shows on monitor 2. I just moved it to 2 but not sure. RIght now, first one has more magenta hue and cant calibrates it well.
     
  6. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #6
    Okay. I'll set up a couple on Monday and see what I can do. You are on the latest version of Palette Master Elements from the BenQ website I take it, not the one from the disc in the box?
     
  7. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
  8. Laird Knox macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #8
    Just because I'm not familiar with that system:

    Are you saving the calibration to the monitors or the video card?
     
  9. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #9
    Saved to the LUT on each screen.

    OP I was slammed at work yesterday but will get on it today.
     
  10. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #10
    So when you set it up did you connect the USB3 cable? You will need to connect both monitors. You can daisy chain them though.
     
  11. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #11
    Well I think I plugged in one monitor's USB port only.
     
  12. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #12
    That's your problem then. The software doesn't see the monitor without the USB cable. Connect the second cable to the port on the side of the first BenQ, then plug the B end to the second monitor.
    Now when you run the monitor you should see both listed in the drop down in PME. Just choose one, calibrate it then when it's finished do the next one.
     
  13. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #13
    idk why but when I pick the first monitor, the calibration screen shows up on the other screen.
     
  14. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #14
    In the drop down menu choose the other one, then drag it to the other screen.
     
  15. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #15
    Im gonna get a calibration tool to try it again.
     
  16. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #16
    2nd monitor is fine but the 1st one does not get a right calibration. Im still seeing magenta cast and the brightness is different. I tried 10 times already.
     
  17. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #17
    Last thing to try then.
    Completely disconnect the first monitor and calibrate the second one on its own. How does that look?
     
  18. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #18
    I just brought i1 pro 2 today so I'll let you know.
     
  19. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #19
    Not good. I tried every single method but I got awkward results. Cant blame my monitors cause while the software is calibrating my monitor, it shows a great result but at the end, it becomes weird such as low brightness and magenta hue even I set same settings.

    I see some brightness and color differences between two monitors. I dont know what to do at this moment.
     
  20. Apple fanboy macrumors Nehalem

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #20
    So last thing to try would be to do a factory reset on the monitors. In the menu.

    Then try using the i1 software instead and see how that looks. If there is still a problem give BenQ a call.
    Where are you based?
     
  21. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #21
    NY.
     

Share This Page

20 September 5, 2017