Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

greedyhands

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2008
Atlanta
Hi, I know this is a pretty elementary question, but this is my first time using a dual monitor setup. What I would like to do is be able to browse on one monitor while watching video files full screen on another monitor. Is this possible? If so what do I need to do to make it so the smaller monitor doesn't go black once I enter full screen on the larger monitor?

Thanks in advance.

geoffreak

macrumors 68020
Feb 8, 2008
You can try using MPlayer OSX, but I think this is a system-wide fullscreen behavior.

Nothing stopping you from stretching to almost fullscreen though ;)

UltraNEO*

macrumors 601
Jun 16, 2007
近畿日本
Hi, I know this is a pretty elementary question, but this is my first time using a dual monitor setup. What I would like to do is be able to browse on one monitor while watching video files full screen on another monitor. Is this possible? If so what do I need to do to make it so the smaller monitor doesn't go black once I enter full screen on the larger monitor?

Thanks in advance.

Go into VLC's preferences and change it's setup to reflect how you'd like it to react. Don't worry about messing it up, there's a reset all option, though you might need to click on advance first.

kellen

macrumors 68020
Aug 11, 2006
Seattle, WA
In VLC, go to preferences, video playback. Choose one of the monitors for full screen, then take off the selection for black bars.

Watching a movie now while on the internet, full screen on the second monitor.

Arfus

macrumors member
Aug 11, 2010
In VLC, go to preferences, video playback. Choose one of the monitors for full screen, then take off the selection for black bars.

Any wy to hide the dock and finder? Cause when i click on my seoncd mnitor the damn thing at top the menu and the dam ndock is displaying.

gugucom

macrumors 68020
May 21, 2009