Dual Monitor on iMac Issue

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Winstonp, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. Winstonp macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    Is there anyway to disable and then re-enable the external monitor (not mirrored) that is connected to my iMac? Perhaps in the terminal or simply within system prefs?


    Thanks!
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    I'd be happy to be corrected, but I'm pretty sure the answer is no. This comes up every once in a while. For me, for instance, it would be ace because I could leave my TV plugged into my iMac 24x7 and just "activate" it when I needed it. I can't leave it in mirroring mode because my Mac's resolution is higher than my (720p) TV's. But sadly, there does not appear to be a way to get the Mac to ignore the external display.
     
  3. Winstonp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Vista lets me do it. This is unfortunate, if true.
     
  4. Antares macrumors 68000

    Antares

    #4
    I'm wondering the same thing. I have an original Core Duo iMac which I keep plugged into my tv . However, I notice occasional video tearing which doesn't exist when I disconnect the cable to the tv. It would be nice to simply have the computer ignore the external display when I want to watch content on the iMac's screen instead of the tv. Right now, I usually just put up with the tearing.

    2 GHz Core Duo
    2GB Ram
    X1600 256MB
     
  5. cupique macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #5
    This is an unfortunate missing feature I would also like to have again in mac os... I'm saying this because OS X 10.1 did have this feature, but it got removed when 10.2 was introduced. I was pretty upset at the time and e-mailed apple of the issue, but this hasn't been corrected to date...
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Ahh, that's interesting. I never used 10.1. So it had a "deactivate monitor" button or something like that in the system preference for displays?
     
  7. cupique macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #7
    When you had 'show displays in menu bar' activated, there was an option in the pull down menu to disable external display. It was pretty damn convenient.
     

Share This Page