dual monitor setup on mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rich2k4, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. rich2k4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #1
    is it possible with a single Geforce 120 card that comes stock on the mac pro's?

    say i want to connect a 24" dell LCD monitor along with a 19" LCD monitor.

    can i do it, or do i need 2 graphics cards?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Get a Mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter. Boom, two monitors. :)
     
  3. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Looking at nVidia's website it seems that it should support dual-link monitor set-up. i.e the same thing is displayed on both screens. Im not too sure though, i would do a quick google and have a bit more of a further research. Maybe some of the other more experienced MP users will be able to help you out more!! :D

    Hope that helps, (although i cant imagine it has :p)

    PTP
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    That's not what he's asking, but sure, you can do that. ;)

    The Apple page on Mac Pro graphics tells that all the cards (and, in fact, all the cards since the January 2008 Mac Pro) support two monitors up to 2650x1600 each.
     
  5. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I need to do more research into Mac Pros obviously!! :p
     
  6. PrincessPeach macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #6
    I have that setup (2x Dell DVI monitors, one hooked up direct and one with the £20 MDP-DVI adapter). Works brilliantly.
     
  7. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #7
    Be warned that there are many complaints about the mDP -> Dual-link DVI made by Apple. Not sure about other brands though.
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Fortunately, he doesn't need one. I don't believe that anyone but Apple makes one.
     
  9. PrincessPeach macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #9
    Yes, go for the non-DL DVI adapter. The cheaper MDP-DVI adapter will be plenty for the described setup. Generally if you need Dual Link, you will know it ;)
     

Share This Page