Dual Monitors and Mission Control

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by okimasa, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. okimasa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #1
    Hello everyone! This is my first post :) In case you need to know about my Mac, my details are listed below.

    Anyway, I bought an external monitor and just got it set up (yay!) and I have a question about using multiple desktops and mission control.

    This is the first time I've ever used multiple monitors, so I'm kind of a noob at it. However, from my understanding, it appears like my secondary monitor is just acting like more desktop for each desktop set up on my primary monitor. This kind of is annoying because when I switch desktops in Mission Control on my main monitor, they switch simultaneously on the secondary as well.

    I guess to get to the core of my question, is there a way to have a completely independent desktop set up on each monitor?

    Thanks :)

    ----

    My Mac:
    2010 15" MacBook Pro
    2.4GHz i5
    8GB RAM
    750GB HDD 7200rpm
    OS 10.8

    My Monitor:
    24" 1080p Asus
    DVI (with a DVI/MiniDisplay port Adapter)
     
  2. jhenry, Aug 21, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012

    jhenry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #2
    System Preferences > Display > Arrangement

    Make sure 'Mirror Displays' is unchecked...

    Since 10.7 each monitor is grouped together in mission control under one 'space'... You can use each monitor individually by dragging apps into each monitor as long as you don't full screen, but you can't individually switch a screen in mission control, has to be both at one.


    Worse in fullscreen as your second monitor becomes a linen texture.

    10.7 upwards handles multiple monitors really badly actually, was hoping it would be addressed in 10.8 but nope.

    One of the whole reasons for the pro 'Apple don't care about us' arguments.
     
  3. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #3
    Yep, it is more desktop. If you open mission control you can see that there's another desktop on your external screen for every desktop you have on your macbook pro screen.

    I have my external screen (I have a macbook pro 13" with an external 1920x1080 screen) set as the main screen, so with the dock and menu bar. Then I use my macbook screen for additional software. e.g. Mail, Spotify etc.

    I actually don't like mission control, so I don't use it. I just put everything on the two screens I have. Else there's no way for me to know where everything is. I find it easier. (perhaps it's not, but I tried changing my way of working and I don't feel like trying anymore).
     
  4. thasan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    uk
    #4
    i dont think it can be controlled. mission control is activated for both monitors at the same time if i know it correctly.
     

Share This Page