Dual Monitors - iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by shanghaicanuck, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. shanghaicanuck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #1
    Hey, I'm about to receive my brand new iMac that I recently ordered :). I have an old VGA monitor lying around and was hoping I could hook it up to the iMac. Is it really as simple as just purchasing a VGA to mini-DVI adapter and plugging it in? Do you guys have any suggestions or know of any potential quirks???

    Thanks!
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    The mini-DVI to VGA adapter works GREAT for me. Leopard even remembers which monitor I was using and arranges it properly between the external and laptop screen. :D
     
  3. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #3
    I have a white iMac (last model) and connect it to an external VGA LCD with the Mini-DVI to VGA adapter.

    I usually put WindowsXP (in full screen mode) using Parallels on the external screen. It works great.
     
  4. shanghaicanuck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #4
    Sweet! Now that's exactly what I was hoping to hear :D
     
  5. terriyaki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #5
    Worked great for me right from the get go when I hooked up my 2005FPW to my 20" iMac (although I'm using DVI instead of VGA). The only thing that bothers me is how the "bird's eye view" in spaces doesn't span across both monitors. It only shows up in the primary display. :(
     
  6. Star Destroyer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #6
    slightly off topic. Can an imac utilize a macbook as an external monitor? Or can i use my macbook to drive my imac and then have dual screen on one of them?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Nope
     
  8. ingenious macrumors 65832

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #8
    i agree... that should be a user preference...

    bug reports, people!
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    I wouldn't call it a bug but the lack of a feature.

    It doesn't really bother me that much.
     
  10. ingenious macrumors 65832

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #10
    you can still file an "enhancement request" on the bug reporter.
     

Share This Page