Dual Monitors with Fusion 2.0? How?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MatrixPrime, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. MatrixPrime macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #1
    I have a MacBook Pro at work and I have an external monitor hooked to it via DVI. I just upgraded to version 2.0 of Fusion today, and I saw that it has the ability to run multiple monitors. So in Windows, if I right click on the desktop and go to Properties and then look at my display properties, the secondary monitor is disabled. If I click on it, it checks the "Extend Windows Desktop" checkbox, which is not what I want to happen, I want to be able to use it as a seperate monitor. When I select the "Identify Monitors" button, the only number that ever appears is "1", which it my MacBooks screen.

    Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Anyone have multiple monitors working in 2.0?
     
  2. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #2
    Did you enable it in settings of the VM, not inside Windows itself?
     
  3. MatrixPrime thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #3
    actually, no. I downloaded the Release Candidate for this a few weeks ago to test it out, and never found the setting so I downgraded back to 1.3.

    Now that I've upgraded to the official release, and after reading your comment, I now see an option to use all the monitors under "View" in the VMWare options....this was something that I didn't see in the Release Candidate version. In any case, now that it's working, it's awesome. OS X in one Space, XP Pro in another.
     
  4. Zeos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #4
    I have always been able to do this with dual monitors under Fusion 1.x. Is the 2.0 functionality different?
     
  5. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #5
    Yes.

    Under VMware Fusion 1.x, the "Unity" view was limited to one display only.

    Under VMware Fusion 2.x, the "Unity" view now works with multiple displays.
     
  6. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #6
    I'm not sure what you want to happen in Windows. You basically have two choices in Windows, either to mirror your displays so they show the same thing, or extend your desktop so that each display is its own desktop area separately.

    VMware mirrors the OS X display settings to the VMware video drivers, so Windows knows the same information about your displays that OS X does. This includes plugging and unplugging displays, a neat trick. You still need to tell Windows how you want to use the displays, in most cases you want to extend your windows desktop to cover the multiple displays so you can just place icons or open applications where you want.
     

Share This Page