dual monitors??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by s.hasan546, May 24, 2011.

  1. s.hasan546 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Hey guys i was wondering how i could hook up two monitors to my mbp 13" i3? Mainly for spreadsheets, calcs, and web browser. was thinking about getting an imac for work but i have a gaming rig at home and can just leave my mbp at work. However i need 2 20"+ monitors...
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #3
    - Interesting. It says "Add up to 4 monitors via USB". Does that mean one could achieve an extended desktop with up to 6 monitors total (the MBP's screen, 4 on USB, one on Thunderbolt*)? Would the MacBook Pro be able to drive all of that with its 6750M GPU?

    * Or better yet, two daisy chained 2011 iMacs in Target Display Mode on Thunderbolt.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    I believe you need four separate USB video adapters to achieve that. The USB thingy is basically an external GPU so the 6750M would only drive the internal display plus the ones connected via Thunderbolt.
     
  5. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #5
    - Yes, naturally I would need four adapters. I didn't know it was an external GPU though - on the website it just says "Video Display Adapter"...
     
  6. s.hasan546 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    theres no other way to do it than buy those adapters? no way for a thunderbolt to 2 hdmi or 2 dvi ports?
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Theoretically yes, but currently no such adapter exists.
     
  8. s.hasan546 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    thx!

    ALso does the MBA superdrive work with the mbp? i have the optibay.
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    At least in the past, it only worked with MBA, although there were hacks to make it compatible with all Macs. If you still got your SuperDrive, you can get this to turn it into an external.
     
  10. s.hasan546 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    ok thx. Only reason i asked was b.c i could get the a superdrive for around $40 from a friend. Rather than spending $50 on just an enclosure.

    Are there any other cheaper good quality optical drive enclosures?
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Something like this should do the job.
     
  12. s.hasan546 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    thx a lot man!! Uve been very helpful!
     

Share This Page