Dual Monitors

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by pknz, Apr 7, 2007.

  1. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #1
    Ok, so sometimes its fun to mess around with dual monitors connected to my mac pro a 20" ACD and Sony Multi Function Display both DVI.

    However if I turn the Sony screen off, I can still loose the mouse in the second screen, is there any way to stop this when the monitor is off besides disconnecting the DVI cable?

    Thanks.
     
  2. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
  3. pknz thread starter macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #3
    Hmm it works, but then it switches my ACD to the lower resolution of the Sony's.

    Is there any 3rd party app that just switches off one of the DVI ports?
     
  4. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #4
    after you turn on mirroring, then hit 'detect displays' and your display should right itself.
     
  5. pknz thread starter macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #5
    Hmm it doesn't seem to have any affect, just stays on the lower resolution.
     
  6. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #6
    just try clicking on the correct display resoltion.

    if you set the display icon to always appear in your status bar, it's only 2 quick clicks -- click on the icon and it'll give you a list of your most recent display resolutions used and just click on the proper one.
     
  7. Quickdood macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #7
    I am having the same problem, when I do mirror displays it downscales the resolution on my higher monitor even though the other monitor is off, I tried putting the resolution back up but it didnt work.

    Anyone else know of a way to make it so the second monitor will not be used when it is plugged in or will I have to unplug it manually every time I just want to use one monitor.
     
  8. Quickdood macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #8
    Does the silence mean there is now way to do it? You would think Apple would have thought of this...
     
  9. ckurowic macrumors regular

    ckurowic

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #9
    Its not Apple, its your video card.
     

Share This Page