dual screen monitors

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hatehereyes, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. hatehereyes macrumors 6502a

    hatehereyes

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca
    #1
    i've got a dual screen set up on my mac and i watch a lot of videos and movies.

    i would like to be able to watch a movie full screen on one screen but still be able to have the other screen free to do anything else.

    i've tried to use quicktime and vlc player but both programs when running full screen leave a black screen on the other monitor and i still can't use it.
     
  2. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #2
    use vlc or mplayer (newest update), you can use one monitor at full screen mode while you browse the web or do anything on the other, thats what I currently do and doing right now.
     
  3. hatehereyes thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hatehereyes

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca
    #3
    i'm using vlc right now and running full screen still leaves the other screen black.

    did you have to mess with the preferences or anything?
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    i just use fit to screen. works well enough for me
     
  5. hatehereyes thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hatehereyes

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca
    #5
    ah nvm. i've figured it out.

    i just overlooked the "Blackscreens in fullscreen mode" check box in the preferences.
     
  6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #6
    but as youll realize, once you click on your other screen, it will exit full screen mode
     
  7. hatehereyes thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hatehereyes

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca
    #7
    that only happens in quicktime.
    i'm using vlc player right now and it's working fine.

    i tried messing with the settings in quicktime and what you said is true. clicking something takes it out of fullscreen mode.
     
  8. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    nice, i may have to start using vlc over quicktime as that is something thats been bugging me as well
     
  9. hatehereyes thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hatehereyes

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca
    #9
    yeah i've been using quicktime to watch avi videos and stuff but now that i can watch videos on one screen and work on the other i think i'll start to use vlc unless someone can find a solution for quicktime.
     
  10. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #10
    I've heard that QTAmateur does something like that. Not sure though, you could give it a try.
     
  11. hatehereyes thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hatehereyes

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca

Share This Page