Dual Screen Support for iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ipodrocker, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. ipodrocker macrumors member

    ipodrocker

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    #1
    Hey does the iMac support dual screen span or just screen mirrioring?
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    Intel iMac supports both.

    iMacs before Intel only supported mirroring if they had video out at all.
     
  4. millar876 macrumors 6502a

    millar876

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland UK
    #4
    Well my 400MHz G3 imac had mirroring and the G4 ones could be hacked (ish) with a small app that removed the software restriction, BUT the G3s were hard wired to mirror (Boo!) it took me a lot of digging to find this because i wanted to replace the CRT in my OLD imac G3 with a flat Pannel, but it was not to be.
     
  5. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Current iMacs do screen spanning out of the box (currently writing this on an iMac with a secondary screen).

    Most, if not all, G5 iMacs could be patched by an app called Screen Spanning Doctor to support spanning as well as mirroring. I'm not sure the patch has been updated to support Leopard, though, so you'll need to check it out. A quick google for 'screen spanning doctor' should turn up what you need.
     
  6. trooperdmr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Three Monitors??

    Is there a way to use THREE monitors with an Intel iMac? I am already using two and would love to have another.
     
  7. KernalROM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #7
    I think you have to buy a little adapter though...
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Matrox do solutions that can make 2 screens work as one.
     

Share This Page