dual setup, or MBP?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rip-the-jacker, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. rip-the-jacker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #1
    hey guys,

    I'm sorry to be continuing this AGAIN, but i have been thinking about my setup. I was going for a MBP to get all aspects, now, i was considering for the same ball park money ,i could get a new rMB and a used / refurb 27" iMac.

    what do you think, that screen and GPU for some counter strike and web browsing, then the rMB which i quite like to do my basic tasks around the house and at a coffee house?

    does this seam reasonable?



    RTJ
     
  2. Azl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    #2
    Sounds good to me.
    With that setup you get a great desktop + ultra portable notebook.
    Do you have any concerns?
     
  3. rip-the-jacker thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #3
    hey Azl, thanks for the response mate. yeah enjoy both items so thought why not go down that route..my only concern is future proofing the iMac, will a 2013 base iMac be ok for the next few years? run counterstrike?

    i found a good site with refurbs, and the apple refurb store. can i upgrade to SSD and the RAM also?



    RTJ
     
  4. Azl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    #4
    HDD and ram are upgradeable.
    How much would you spend on that 2013 imac?
     
  5. rip-the-jacker thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #5
    i have seen a grade A refurb from a respectable company go for £950 + shipping.



    RTJ
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    "upgradeable" is a little bit inaccurate.
    You may want to review an iFixit repair guide to see how challenging it can be to slice the iMac open, then tape it back closed when you are done.
    Particularly look at the guide for replacing memory.
    (The RAM slots are on the back side of the logic board, not a simple door to access the memory. :D )
    You may be comfortable with that level of repair, but though I would point that out.
     
  7. rip-the-jacker thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #7
    I'm going to phone the company tomorrow when they open and see if they will charge me for a fresh hard drive (SSD) to be put in before they ship it to save be the hassle as I'm aware it is quite tricky, and can upgrade the ram myself in th future when needed.


    RTJ
     
  8. rip-the-jacker thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #8
    Apple iMac 27-inch, Mid 2011 - 3.4GHz Core i7

    how is this setup guys? will this gpu run CS : GO ok? and with 32gb ram and an ssd, will this model run me out a few years??


    RTJ
     

Share This Page