iPhone Dual Sim = Dual Apps?

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by dengue, Oct 6, 2018.

  1. dengue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    Hey there, since now we have dual sim iPhones, is there any possibilities to have a dual apps, like 2 whatsapps, 2 telegram app on your phone?
    Or maybe it will be Apple next year iOS features
     
  2. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #2
    I think it would be up to the developers of the apps to find a way to manage two numbers seamlessly.
     
  3. NoBoMac macrumors 68020

    NoBoMac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #3
    Judging from Apple's help pages and images we've seen from people running 12.1 beta, appears everything will be via a single app, and there will be a toggle/dropdown to select which number to use to contact. Ie. Seen where Contacts show what number/account/telco to use to contact an individual. Messages defaults to last used or default for person, but can toggle in message thread screen to use other SIM/number.

    https://cdn.macrumors.com/article-new/2018/09/dualsimcontacts-800x650.jpg
    https://support.apple.com/library/c...w-message-with-line-choice-button-cropped.jpg
     
  4. sahajesh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield
    #4
    I think the OP meant apps like WhatsApp where it’s tied to a number and (I guess) will still work the same way unless updated.

    How does that app work on dual-SIM Android phones, for example?
     
  5. NoBoMac macrumors 68020

    NoBoMac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #5
    On most (all?) dual sim Android phones, the app gets cloned to the second sim. So number A gets one copy of Whatsapp, number B a second instance of Whatsapp. You have two icons on the screen and tap the appropriate one for the number you want to use.
     
  6. sahajesh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield
    #6
    Cheers.

    Not that I plan to get a DS iPhone for a while but wonder if this is what WhatsApp and others will do, or are they restricted by the iOS SDK (or we just don’t know yet)?
     
  7. 0970373 Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #7
    There are actually 2 Telegram apps that you can use simultaneously. One is Telegram and the other is Telegram X. I currently use both and have it set up with one w/ a US # and the other a UK #.
     
  8. sahajesh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield
    #8
    Is that to cater for dual-SIM or are they different versions altogether? WhatsApp may not be able/want to do the same and anyway, having multiple versions of the same (popular) app isn’t a good thing.
     
  9. 0970373 Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #9
    No, I think the X version was sort of a beta as it was written in swift unlike the original app, per the release notes. But they’ve recently updated the main Telegram app using Swift now. Both apps currently in the store but not sure if they’ll discontinue the X version in the future.
     

Share This Page

8 October 6, 2018