Duke Nukem 3D

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by mckyvlle, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Has anyone manage to get this old-skool classic to run on an Intel Mac?

    I see that EDuke32 supposedly works on OS X, however they don't have a binary for download.

    I tried compiling the source myself, but even after satisfying the dependencies, it aborts with the following error:
    Code:
    ld: absolute addressing (perhaps -mdynamic-no-pic) used in _stripcolorcodes from eobj/libengine.a(osd.o) not allowed in slidable image
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    Failed linking executable eduke32!
    make: *** [eduke32] Error 1
    Any ideas on this?
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Sounds like they are attempting to make the application only operate in a particular memory space, that the compiler won't allow. I would send the error back to them and see if they can NOT do that.

    TEG
     
  3. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    I have a Duke Nukem 3D app from 2005 that I never used. It's just called Duke Nuked 3D.app and contains Timidity (for midi).
     
  4. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #5
    They really need to port Duke Nukem 3D to the iPhone. Jus' sayin'.
     
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    The controls are much too complex, I can't even imagine how Doom would run well (and by that I mean as well as the GBA Dooms at least) on an iPhone.
     
  6. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #7
    The PPC version works fine on the Intel machines. It doesn't matter whether it's running under Rosetta or not. It's not like you'll notice any lagging ;)
     
  7. mckyvlle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Thanks for all the help!

    I'll post on the EDuke32 if they have accepted my registration.

    I'll look into the PPC version too. Running EDuke32 however would give access to High-Resolution textures and other 21st-century enhancements! :cool:
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #9
    Just tried Eduke32 with the HRP on my Atomic version of Duke. Bloody ace! I can see why you'd want a Mac port :). Each level takes a while to load though even on my newer computers.
     
  9. mckyvlle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    It builds!

    Yay! I have got EDuke32 to build on OS X. Here are the details:

    System: Mac OS X 10.5.6
    Xcode: 3.1.2 (non iPhone SDK)
    GCC: gcc version 4.0.1 (Apple Inc. build 5490)

    Get the EDuke32 sources from http://wiki.eduke32.com/stuff/eduke32_current.zip. My version is dated 2009-01-31. Also get http://wiki.eduke32.com/stuff/source_code/osx_libs.tar.bz2.

    Extract both and place the "Apple" folder inside the EDuke32 source tree.

    Install SDL from MacPorts:
    libsdl
    libsdl-framework
    libsdl_mixer
    libsdl_mixer-framework
    Remember to create symlinks from the MacPorts install to /Library/Frameworks/

    Changes summary:
    Changed the SDL paths to point to the MacPorts SDL location
    build/include/sdl_inc.h
    build/Makefile.shared
    Makefile

    Disable NOASM flags
    build/Makefile

    Force generation of PIC code (-fPIC)
    No RANCID_NETWORKING
    Makefile

    Changed type from int32_t to int
    build/include/osxbits.h

    The modifications are in the attached patch files.

    :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page