Dumb question about changing video cards

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Xytras, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Xytras macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #1
    I know this may be a dumb question, in the Macbook Pro running Vista, how do you change which graphics card the computer is using? I'm just curious because I'm about to receive one and I'm not sure how it is handled in Vista.
     
  2. cg165 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    It isn't a dumb question but it has been answered many times. The answer is that as of now when you boot into windows it will automatically use the more powerful 9600m gt. That's what I would be using either way since I mostly use vista 64 for gaming.
     
  3. Xytras thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #3
    Great, thank you for clearing this up. I wonder if there is any way to switch to the less powerful video card in Vista. The only reason I would want to do this if travelling and wanting to consume less battery power. Any one know if there is a way?
     
  4. cg165 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #4
    When you travel just use Leopard ;) or you can still use the 9600m in windows, it will just give you an hour or so less battery depending on what you're doing. This is software related (or so I've heard) so this can always be updated by a firmware update.

    Hopefully Windows 7 and/or Snow Leopard will take advantage of both video cards and might give better battery performance. I plan on getting both when they come out next year :D
     
  5. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #5
    It's a driver thing. Apple isn't the first company to use integrated GPU to maximize battery life and a dedicated video card for performance. Lenovo is, and it works fine in Windows. So it's just a driver hurdle. It's going to be up to Apple to supply a driver that enables this, as I doubt Nvidia is going to release a desktop driver that allows this.
     

Share This Page