Duplicate files - a growing problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bdw56, Aug 13, 2010.

1. bdw56 macrumors newbie

I'm new to the Mac and the owner of a 13" Power Book which I love.
    However, I'm finding that whenever I do anything much on the Mac involving photos, video or music, the HD space gets eaten up rapidly. I've worked out that this is partly because the Mac has its own way of storing files. So, for example, if I have a folder called 'My Music', where all my music files are stored, once I import these into iTunes, it it all duplicated into the iTunes library, thereby taking up twice the space.
    I guess that the same thing happens with iphoto and imovie as well.

I'd appreciate any advice for a Mac virgin on where to store various files to avoid this disc-devouring problem.

I have searched a fair bit for advice, but only get pointed in the direction of software finding duplicates. I want to avoid the problem recurring and so am asking this question.

2. filemeaway macrumors newbie

Once you import your music into iTunes and your photos into iPhoto, just delete the original ones! iPhoto and iTunes are used to interact with this content and the files don't need to be stored in the filesystem anymore. However it's a good idea to back up your original files.

On the other hand, if you plan on using iTunes and iPhoto the foreseeable future, you might just want to back up the directories (i.e. "Music/iTunes" and 'Photos/iPhoto Library") and forget about the original folders (delete them). The reason for this is that your music and photos are still accessible in filesystem if you need them, but they also accompany "Library files" that contain things like ratings and playlists (iTunes); and albums, slideshows and links to previous version of photos once you make edits (iPhoto).

Make sense?

3. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

Caleb531

I would also recommend making sure these items are checked:

• Copy Items to iPhoto Library in iPhoto