Duplicate Grey Icons

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by That-Guy, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. That-Guy macrumors 6502a

    That-Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    A friend at work has just updated to the GM version of iOS 7 on his iPhone 4, it was a full restore, setup as new iPhone without restoring iCloud Backup.

    He downloaded the Gmail app along with another app from the app store and the app icons appeared twice while they were downloading and the second of each turned grey after the apps had completed installing.

    My questions are:

    One:
    Has anyone else experienced anything like this?

    Two:
    His home button is faulty (hardware fault) is there anyway to restart the phone without it? At the moment he has to let the battery completely drain then plug the phone into the charger so it switches back on.

    Thanks in Advance peeps :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #2
    Home button? Press and hold the lock button then slide to power off.
     
  3. That-Guy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    That-Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    It's the sleep/wake button that does not work.
     
  4. That-Guy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    That-Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Just an update on this, he let the battery drain so the phone re-started when he plugged the phone into the charger. The duplicate icons have now gone.

    He has ordered a new sleep/wake button from eBay to fix the hardware fault too :)
     
  5. inselstudent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #5
    Afaik there's no replacement for the way how you turn the phone off. But if you turn on Assisstive touch in settings>general>accessibility, he can at least just lock the device
     
  6. That-Guy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    That-Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Yeah Assistive Touch is what he has been using its been a life saver, but hopefully by the end of the week the sleep/wake button will be fixed :)
     

Share This Page