Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shmick

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 6, 2014
Sydney, Australia
Hi Guys,

Trying to find the best way to get rid of thousands of duplicate photos that I have collected over the years. I have been using an iPhone since 2008 and backing up photos to different methods over the years (Dropbox, iTunes, Google Drive and iCloud in later years) now I also have a MacBook Pro running Yosemite 10.10 and have decided to go through and consolidate all my photos. I have downloaded all the photos from all the online shares and imported everything into iPhoto. Problem is because files have changed names over the years somehow I have no real way of finding duplicates. Im looking for recommendations on how I could find and get rid of these duplicate files maybe with the use of meta data and also any recommendation of how to best organise and sort the photos?

Apple fanboy

macrumors Ivy Bridge
Feb 21, 2012
Behind the Lens, UK
Hi Guys,

Trying to find the best way to get rid of thousands of duplicate photos that I have collected over the years. I have been using an iPhone since 2008 and backing up photos to different methods over the years (Dropbox, iTunes, Google Drive and iCloud in later years) now I also have a MacBook Pro running Yosemite 10.10 and have decided to go through and consolidate all my photos. I have downloaded all the photos from all the online shares and imported everything into iPhoto. Problem is because files have changed names over the years somehow I have no real way of finding duplicates. Im looking for recommendations on how I could find and get rid of these duplicate files maybe with the use of meta data and also any recommendation of how to best organise and sort the photos?