Dust and the nMP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by puckhead193, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Any new mac pro owners have taken a look inside their "towers"..

    I was rearranging some wires and my god I took a peek... :eek:
    The last image is the inside top case where the dust is stuck
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Zwhaler macrumors 604

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
  3. maclove4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #3
    use vacuum.
     
  4. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #4
    You didn't have a clean room installed before you got that?
     
  5. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #5
    An air line through the top sorts all that out but don't wear a pair of decent trousers doing it. It was really caked, your pic was almost like the after but it was doing 3dsmax renders in a demolition site portocabin. One I should have recorded on video for prosterity :D
     
  6. P00t macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Location:
    Nottingham UK
    #6
    LOL I'm OCD about dust too.

    Just today I was inside my 2010 Mac Pro and dust was all over the place, so I went around with some IPA on lint free wipes and you wouldn't believe the colour that was coming off and I only did the front fan and shelf.

    I've been tempted to invest in an air compressor (not those canned versions), especially for the PSU and mainboard where I can't get to with wipes etc

    I need to do an spring clean inside one of these days.
     
  7. Gav Mack, Oct 20, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2014

    Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #7
    100 litres of denatured isopropyl you could give it a lovely soak though you might blow your house up but it certainly did bring a 4,1 with smoke damage totally back to life and sparkling after. Thank my lucky stars big brother still has his engineering shop with all his goodies including a huge extractor hood along with lathes, mills and all the other things I don't have including an absolutely massive compressor and air line system.

    Proper compressors are good but they aren't quiet or clean either, I would cart the Mac Pro to a friendly garage or workshop cos the dust gets everywhere. Anyone who has ever blew an air line through a PowerMac power supply will relate to that :D

    My 3,1 is overdue for its annual blow out at big brothers, he won't notice a bit of computer dust in the slightest unlike my office.
     
  8. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    Got in mid February I think...
     
  9. Zwhaler macrumors 604

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #9
    Yeah ... clean it a few times a year. Same for my Mac Pro.
     
  10. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    Is it weird that my computer feels faster :confused:
     
  11. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #11
    Probably just knocked the dust off a couple cores.
     
  12. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #12
    A beer soak?

    What brand Imperial Pale Ale did you use? Didn't it leave everything kind of sticky?
     
  13. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #13
  14. Zwhaler macrumors 604

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #14
    I use one of these :D

    [​IMG]

    ----------

    I know the feeling, especially in the GPU department.
     
  15. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #15
    I thought about adding a greene king pun in myself. :)

    We have a winner in the compressor wars, think my brothers is bigger but it's absolutely filthy as muck unlike Zwhaler's sparkling red can. Re-engineering automatic gearboxes isn't exactly a clean room kind of environment :D
     
  16. Cubemmal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #16
    Compressed air is a suboptimal solution, especially when using a construction compressor. There can be issues with contaminants in the air, not to mention the mess, and it doesn't do that great a job anyhow. You really want a static safe solution that removes the dust.

    The best I've found is a static dissipative ('static safe') dust capturing vacuum from 3M that they designed for their electronic service techs. Essentially its a toolbox with a vacuum inside, with a variety of attachments so you get the mechanical action from the brushes which really cleans the dust off.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #17

Share This Page