Dust on image sensor?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by jjk454ss, May 18, 2014.

  1. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #1
    I bought this camera some time back and I noticed some spots on my pics. I figured it was a dirty lens, then I noticed it again and thought I forgot to clean the lens so I forgot about it. Now, I've switched lenses and still get the spots in all my pics. One is a spot the other is a horseshoe shape. Is this a dirty sensor or something more/worse?

    Also, would a decent camera shop clean it for me? Or should I just do it myself?

    I cropped the pic to just get in the spots, lower left and upper tight corners.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Laird Knox macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #2
    The two spots are dust. I've not seen one like the worm before. I expect it is a piece of thread or something. Blowing out dust isn't difficult. Pick up a Rocket Air Blaster.

    Set the camera to mirror lockup mode. This will cause the mirror to raise and expose the sensor. Hold the camera upside down and give it a few good blasts of air. Holding the camera upside down allows and debris to fall out of the body.

    If the problem persists then it may need a wet cleaning. You can do this yourself if you are comfortable with the process or take it to a shop and they will clean it for a charge.
     
  3. jjk454ss thread starter macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #3
    Thanks. I think I'll try to find an air blaster tomorrow, or I'll order one and give it a try.
     
  4. jjk454ss thread starter macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #4
    2 camera shops here in ton, first one wanted $60 to clean the sensor(includes 2 lenses). Second one doesn't do any sort of wet cleaning, but they blew it off for me. Without really inspecting pics real close it seems like it may have taken care of it. If not they recommended another camera shop a little farther away that will clean the sensor for $20.
     
  5. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #5
    Be sure to get yourself a rocket blower then you can do it yourself next time. Also make sure your camera is set to clean itself ever time you power off. I didn't know about that one until someone showed me.
     
  6. jjk454ss thread starter macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #6
    I ordered a Rocket Blower from Amazon yesterday. I'll have to see how to set my camera to clean itself. Thanks
     
  7. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #7
    Do all of them do this? My Sony does... but my buddy's Nikon (albeit an older D40) doesn't.
     
  8. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #8
    Not sure about the D40, but my Nikon D3200 and D7100 both do. Check the manual.
     
  9. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #9
    Sounds like you found a good shop. That is the place you do business. Their advice was spot-on. If a blower brush does not fix it in 2 seconds you need the wet cleaner thing and some care and a steady hand.

    In the future keep the camera aimed down when changing lenses and don't leave the body open always have either aliens or a body cap on it.

    Dust on glass lens never shows on the picture because it would be hopelessly out of focus. But dust on the sensor casts a shadow.

    Some cameras are self-cleaning. They have a feature that vibrates the sensor at ultrasonic frequency. Maybe your camera has this and you need to turn it on???

    ----------

    This is correct the D40. The D40 and like vintage nikons are not self-cleaning.
     

Share This Page