Dust on sensor will not come out

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by TimJim, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #1
    I decided to check my sensor for dust today. I pushed the Aperture to f/22, then f/32 on another lens. I used a long exposure on a yellowish wall. I loaded the pictures on my computer, and died a little. The first two pictures (i only took two for the initial test) had dust all over. I grabbed my Giotto Rocker Air Blower, used mirror lock up, held the camera upside down, and used that to blow the dust off. I took another three pictures, same result; dust all over. I repeated this once more, and the dust is still present with a faint circle in the middle (after the 2nd blowing). I feel as though i'm doing everything right, but was wondering if there was any tricks you guys have to help me.

    Here are some of the pictures ranging from initial test to final test. [These are resized so you cant even see the full extent of the dust. Take my word for it, there is seen on the original. A lot more :(]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #2
    If my Giotto doesn't work, I get out the sensor brush. If that doesn't do it, I wet clean with sensor swabs and Eclipse E2. If that didn't do it, I'd send it to Nikon.

    Look here http://www.copperhillimages.com/ . There are lots of sensor cleaning solutions.
     
  3. valdore macrumors 65816

    valdore

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri. USA
    #3
    I use that Copper Hill kit in addition to the Arctic Butterfly. All told I've spent hundreds of dollars trying to get the frickin dust off of my sensor. Dust truly is the bane of digital SLR photography.

    Here's a thread I starte awhile back on the subject that has some useful information...


    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=377493
     
  4. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

    Phrasikleia

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Over there------->
    #4
    I read somewhere that using a shopvac on the camera can be effective (take off the lens, lock up the mirror, and vacuum out the dust). Has anyone tried that?

    Any theories on what is causing the central white splotch on the OP's images?
     
  5. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #5
    Yeah. Right. Shop vac. Sounds like a great idea. Don't forget to retrieve the mirror and other pieces from the cannister so you can send them in to Repair with the rest of the camera.
     

Share This Page