Dust on Sensor :-(

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by gangzoom, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. gangzoom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #1
    Was lucky enough to be at the British Granprix last weekend :D
    Happy snapped away for pretty much the whole weekend, and i've only just had time to download the photos and found two quite large dust spots on several of the photos :( (both on the right hand side of the image, one near the top, one near the bottom)


    Dust on my sensor :-(

    I was changing lens quite a lot during the weekend, and the series of photos affected was just after a lens change...however the dust spots seem to have now dissappeared...ive taken about 10 pictures of my white wall at home and theres nothing there...since this has never happened to me before, I just wanted to ask what i should now...since the dust spots are now gone do I just carry on as normal, or should i get the sensor cleaned anyways?? Also any advice on to stop it from happening again?? (Apart from not changing Lens) :confused:
     
  2. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #2
    Don't panic.

    A few dust spots aren't a big deal, and probably won't affect a majority of your shots (they tend to be most noticeable using small apertures, say f/16 and smaller). If you know exactly where they are, they're usually pretty easy to clean up in post processing—the retouch tool in iPhoto would likely take care of them.

    Get a good blower to use every once in a while when you notice dust on the sensor.

    To figure out exactly where the spots are, zoom in as much as possible, use the smallest aperture, and manually focus as close as possible (nothing particular needs to be in focus when you take this shot), then shoot a white wall (or something similar). Once you know where they are, you can clean them up in any affected photos, and check to see how successful your cleaning is.
     
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    This is good advice. If you're worried, when you change lenses just get a blower and blow out the camera a few times before you mount the new lens. Also, some cameras have a feature where they can get rid of the dust spots in the camera so you don't have to do it in post.
     
  4. 88888888 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #4
    I don't see it.. can you point it out? -.- i dont even know if my photos have dust..
     
  5. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #5
    A quick way to test.

    To test for dust set your aperture to 32 or the highest your lens supports. Then photograph a white wall or blue sky. You don't need to hold your camera steady.
     
  6. osin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    Those dust spots weren't noticeable later on probably because you used wider aperture ;) to find them try what guys above said: use the smallest aperture on your lens (f/22 or smaller)...
     
  7. OCSpersonel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #8
    Be sure to hold your camera upside down when changing lenses, especially outside.

    check out kits for cleaning, sensorvac has some good ones. and like they said, just get a little hurricane blower or something to blow it out when you switch
     

Share This Page