Dusty G5 powermac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Bob Jovi, May 30, 2007.

  1. Bob Jovi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    is it wise to hoover the inside of my powermac??? as it is very very dusty in there!
    thanks
     
  2. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #2
    Best not to – static from that hoover wouldn't go doing your Mac's innards any good. A better bit would be to invest in a can of compressed air and blast that troublesome dust away.
     
  3. N10248 macrumors 6502a

    N10248

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Location:
    Essex, U.K.
    #3
    Don't use a hoover in a Powermac!!

    At my office we regularly have to clean out our big laser printers and when using a hoover on them sparks fly and people get shocks (very funny to watch) so it would wreck a computer.

    Best bet is to remove all of the removable parts like drives, fans and heatsinks and any other bits you can safely get out and then use a dry soft paintbrush on the circuitry and clean the removed parts with a wet cloth and compressed air in the tricky corners.

    Bye
     
  4. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #4
    I use a compressed air/vacuum combo.

    Guess it depends on what the attachments are made out of though, hmm...? No static or sparks when I use my vacuum...:confused:
     
  5. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #5
    Agreed. Static killed my G5.
     
  6. Frankf300 macrumors regular

    Frankf300

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    Yea, you got to be real careful about static. Like others have mentioned, why not just use compressed air? Simple and cheap solution, a lot easier than sticking a Hoover in there. :D
     
  7. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #7
    I'd rather buy compressed air than visit my local Apple Store because my G5 isn't booting up anymore. :(
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    Bad assumption that there is no static just because you can't see visible sparks...
     
  9. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #9
    I base that on the fact that I've done it for several years and none of the computers have ceased to work or develop any other problems. :eek:

    Therefore there must be no static there with the vacuum I am using.
     

Share This Page