DVD Burning Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Michaelgtrusa, Mar 19, 2010.

1. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

Michaelgtrusa

Hello members,
    As many know, burning a dvd on a mac and playing it back on a dvd player dosen't work. You have to convert it to a different codec. My question is, what methods and apps do others here use to do so. I have several conversion tools and a Phillips dvd player.

2. flinch13 macrumors regular

Hi Michaelgtrusa.

I must begin my post by saying I do not condone illegally copying DVDs. Nowadays, a netflix subscription and the plummeting costs of DVDs (usually around $5 used if you know where to look) really has eliminated the need to illegally copy DVDs, however I have some knowledge that I am willing to share for purely scientific reasons.

One does not convert a copied DVD to a different codec. The data structure must remain the same if it is to play on a DVD player, computer, etc. What really matters is compressing the DVD content so that it will fit on the disk. Usually, this is not even necessary; if the disk is 4.7 GB (single layer) it does not need to be compressed for burning on a single layer DVD-R. Larger disks must be compressed in order to burn them onto single layer disks, but they can also be burned on duel layer disks (DVD-DL) without compression.

In order to copy a DVD, one must first copy the DVD content onto a computer's hard drive. An excellent tool for this purpose is FairMount, which tricks a mac into believing that a DVD is a removable drive. After FairMount is launched, the DVD disappears and reappears as a drive, and the VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS folders can be copied to your hard drive easily.