Dvd conversion for iMovie

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by dlokey13, Aug 16, 2009.

  1. dlokey13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #1
    I'm trying to edit my wedding video. The videographer recorded everything and gave me the raw footage so I can edit it myself. Unfortunately he gave me a DVD with the footage. I'm trying to edit the footage on iMovie, but I cannot import the footage because it's on a DVD. Can somebody please help me with this. I have Mac the Ripper. I don't know if that'll help or not.

    This is my first time trying to convert something, so I'm gonna need to be walked through this step by step.

    Thanks
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Mac the Ripper may do the job, but it appears to have been out of development for the past four years. Handbrake is the preferred choice for RIPping DVDs.
     
  3. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #3
    I second handbrake.

    BUT, when you say
    "he gave me the raw footage on DVD" do you mean:
    1. that it plays in a dvd player with a menu and all that stuff

    OR

    2. that it's in a file format? maybe DV or MOV

    and what year of imovie are you using?
     
  4. dlokey13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #4
    The videographer shot everything and didn't edit it, but I do think that there's a menu on it.

    I think '08, but I'm about to upgrade to the latest version.
     
  5. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #5
    so when you put it in your DVD player, does it play?
     
  6. dlokey13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
  7. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #7
    Then rip it using handbrake. Probably want to change some settings to keep the quality as best as possible.
     
  8. dlokey13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #8
    what should the settings be for best quality?
     
  9. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #9
    my guess is basic setting with normal and in aVI.

    that is a guess though.
    perhaps choose large file.

    or google something like "best quality with handbrake"?
     
  10. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #10
    You at least should do a 2 pass encode. When you do raise the quality, the file size will raise too. Might want to try a small clip and check how they came out.
     
  11. dlokey13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #11
    I ripped it with handbrake to avi format. But when I open iMovie and try to use the newly ripped material I cannot even get the file into iMovie.
     
  12. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #12
    you're just going to have to try with different formats.
    try apple tv. i would like to think that would work with imovie.
     

Share This Page