DVD onto iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by marcmarcdv, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. marcmarcdv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
  2. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #2
    HandBrake is a great program for ripping and encoding DVDs. Either their Apple TV or their Apple Universal settings preset will produce an iTunes friendly ".m4v" file which will look good on the iPad.
     
  3. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Download HandBrake (FREE) and use the Apple TV option.
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    HandBrake + VLC. You need VLC to break the encryption or something on the DVD. Make sure if you go 32-bit, both apps are 32-bit. And vice versa for 64-bit. I recommend 64-bit for a boost in speed.
     
  5. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #5
    The problem with AppleTV setting is you can't sync to iPhone. You will have to do two files if you want to sync between iPhone & iPad.

    I just use the iPhone settings. Looks fine on iPad.
     
  6. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #6
    I think the Apple Universal preset will give you better quality than the iPhone setting, but will be compatible with all three devices.
     
  7. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #7
    Screen shot of iPad video ripped to iPhone settings with Handbrake. It looks better playing than paused for screen shot.

    AppleTV setting now playable on iPhone and iPad?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. magiclaffs macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #8
    Handbrake crash

    For some reason Handbrake crashes every time I try to use it after install. Likely there is some conflict in the system?

    So...I use PQDVD. It is very easy though a bit expensive at 30.00 or so.
     
  9. K4LK macrumors 6502

    K4LK

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #9
    Are you on Windows XP with Norton installed? That was my brother's problem. Uninstall Norton.
     
  10. b.c. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    #10
    I also recommend Handbrake + VLC

    but a slightly different idea - once you've ripped your DVDs using Handbrake/VLC and saved them on your Mac or PC hard drive, you can stream them wirelessly to your iPhone or iPad using the Air Video app (no need to sync/store them locally on your iPhone/iPad)

    will play other video formats too, e.g. AVI

    http://lifehacker.com/5516405/air-v...ipad-is-the-best-3-ive-spent-in-the-app-store
     
  11. nixiemaiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #11
    Just a tip if you are a windows user and going to use handbrake. I encoded a video 4 times and could not get the sound to work no matter what I did. The problem was just windows media player. It played fine in quicktime and iTunes and on my iPad. I spent a day encoding this movie over and over thinking I was doing something wrong...so just warning you to check the video in iTunes before assuming something is wrong.
     
  12. magiclaffs macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #12
    Who else?

    Yeah, you guessed it. Norton and XP. Comcast shifted over from providing free McAfee (which I liked) to free Norton. Norton is just a pain in the rear. I'll give it a try. Thanks.
     
  13. MikeTemple macrumors member

    MikeTemple

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    In the cloud
  14. shellbryson macrumors 6502

    shellbryson

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #14
    Used 64bit Handbrake & 64bit VLC on my MacPro to convert a Korean SciFi film and it works great! Complete with subtitles, which I didn't expect. Playback is perfect on iPad.

    Downside... 2Gb video file causes the iPad backup to take FOREVER... so a quick sync before leaving the house in the morning = fail.
     
  15. wrkactjob macrumors 65816

    wrkactjob

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Out of interest why did you choose such a large file?...couldn't you have specified 750mb?...my rips rarely go over 800mb and still look good on a 46" TV.
     
  16. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #16
    I use RipIt for $20, and then Handbrake. It works very well, never any issues.
     
  17. fupresti macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #17
    I use DVDFab to rip the DVD and then use Handbrake to convert into an .mp4. I use the Apple TV option for conversion.
     
  18. Rick in NC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Kernersville, NC
    #18
    Is it fair to assume that some discs will not rip on Handbrake? I had an issue with the first movie I tried but the second one is currently ripping well.
     
  19. shellbryson macrumors 6502

    shellbryson

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #19
    Was my fist attempt to encode, I will go back and try with different settings. 2Gb IS overly large, I realise that :) I'd not normally expect a movie to be over 750mb.
     
  20. tl01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #20
    If I'm using Mac the ripper to rip the disks and handbrake to encode them.... Is there a way to decrease the quality a little for my son's cartoons? Right now my typical size video for myself is about 1GB.
     
  21. jecastejon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #21
    On Handbrake first set the target encoder you use, Apple TV, iPhone & iPod Touch, etc, then you have the Ratio check option "Target size (MB):" under the "Video" tab, check this and set the size you want. Keep the H.264 (x264) option and also "Framerate (FPS) Same as Source". You could always go down on quality and the iDevices should read them fine as they support a maximum bitrate not a minimum.
     
  22. chris650 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #22
    This is exactly what I am looking for!

    One question, I have all my DVD ripped to ISO already. Could you tell me what the next step for Handbrake. I want to maintain as high resolution as possible, for iPad, and future higher resolution devices.

    Thank you.
     
  23. Woomy123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #23
    Just use the apple tv preset in handbrake, then air video it to ur iPad works wonders for me, and looks beautiful
     
  24. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #24
  25. Woomy123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #25

Share This Page