DVD Player Locked to Region Code!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jess86, May 7, 2008.

  1. jess86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #1
    Hi,
    I have (stupidly) locked my DVD Player on my Mac Book to the US Region code and I am just wondering if there is any way to unlock it, and then, preferably, never have this problem again?!
    I have rung Apple and been to the service centre and they pretty much told me there is nothing I can do...please help!
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    The Apple Store people are correct - there is nothing you can do at this point. DVD drives can have their region code changed a limited number of times. Once this limit is exceeded, you're stuck. :(
     
  3. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
  4. yeroen macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #4
    Just get Mac the Ripper and never worry about region encoding again.
     
  5. MadDoc macrumors 6502

    MadDoc

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I'm surprised the Apple Store said that - they have been known to reset the region-lock in the past. Just pester them. It is possible to do.

    MadDoc,
     
  6. jess86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #6
    VLC doesn't work because it wont read the audio...
    does Mac the RIpper mean that I need to have a dvd burner in my computer though?
    its so annoying how they do this!
     
  7. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    No. Mac the Ripper creates a local copy of the DVD on your hard drive. You can then use this copy like a real DVD.
     
  8. jess86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
  9. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #9
    There are about 5 times you can change it? Can you not just change it back unless youve done it another 4 times already?

    If they wont reset it, then they could replace the drive for you.
     
  10. HP50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    #11
    Locked dvd drive, Jess 86

    I've also just accidently locked my Imac on region 3, not realising I had used the last change. Somewhere I read that you can pay Apple to have it reset. Does anyone know if this is so?
     
  11. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #12
    No idea where anyone got the impression the region code can be reset by Apple once locked. The only thing that can be done after the fact is to have the optical drive replaced entirely and unless it's eligible for a warranty repair it will be billable.
     
  12. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #13
    You can flash the firmware on your drive to be rpc1. This will allow your region code to be reset via a program like regionx. Note that not all drives can be flashed. See www.rpc1.org

    I did this on my old 2006 MacBook and it worked like a treat.
     

Share This Page