DVD player not recognised on Tiger - newbie needs emergency help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by slim tim slide, Nov 26, 2009.

1. slim tim slide macrumors newbie

Ive just gotten a 2nd hand eMac G4 800Mhz running OSX 10.4.1 when I put a dvd in to play nothing happens - the appliactaions folder says I have a dvd player (occupying 38 odd MG of space) but when I try to opn it i get this message ¨There was an initialization error. A valid vieo device could not be found for playback (-70017)

does this mean i cant watch dvd´s??? do i need to download new software? i am a complete novice and would really appreciate some help here... thanks in advance

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

3. slim tim slide thread starter macrumors newbie

hi, thanks for replying - i have tried music discs and they open in i-tunes fine but when i insert a dvd it wont work, i just get the message i described, i wonder if the mac is lacking some piece of software?

4. old-wiz macrumors G3

When you insert a dvd, does it show up in finder?

5. slim tim slide thread starter macrumors newbie

dvd in finder

not sure - the dvd player application is only located in applications folder, not on the dock. as soon as i click the dvd player icon the menus are shown across the top of the screen but they are almost all shaded and i cannot open the disc drawer. also a message appears saying that the appropriate application could not be found (full message is at top of this thread). I have tried to circumvent this by opening i-tunes in order to open the drawer, insert the dvd, and then try dvd player but i get the same message. (There was an initialization error - a video device could not be located) but it does appear that there IS a dvd player located in applications! I am very confused!

6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Inserted DVDs should appear on your desktop.

Do no DVDs work, or just a particular one? What about data DVDs?

7. old-wiz macrumors G3