dvd problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by arsela, Aug 15, 2010.

1. arsela macrumors newbie

Hi!
    i have some problems with watching dvd. When i insert a dvd it says not supported disc. I copy the movies on my pc and when i open them again it says : The document “Awake.flv.flv” could not be opened. The movie is not in a format that QuickTime Player understands.You may need to install additional software to open this type of file. i have other programs such as DVD player but it still doesn't open. please help me. i'm new at this and i don't know much :(

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

It obviously isn't a video DVD (the one you buy at a store with a movie on it and you put that DVD into one of those DVD players under the telly), but a data DVD, which contains files that end with .flv, which is short for FLash Video, meaning it was probably downloaded from YouTube or a similar video hosting side.

Install Perian to be able to play those .flv files back in QuickTime Player or use the VLC Player to play them back in VLC.

Thus the problem does not reside with the DVD, but with the format of the files on that DVD.

Btw, is this your first Mac?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

3. arsela thread starter macrumors newbie

4. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

No need to be embarrassed :)o), everyone starts somewhere. Ask me a question about airplanes and I don't know what the answer could be.

Did my answer help?

Also have a look at the following links (if you haven't already), as the information presented there might be helpful in your future endeavours into Mac OS X and could clear up initial confusion and may even prevent harm to your system or your files.

Mac OS X Basics
    Switch 101 - guide with articles made by Apple on how to accustom yourself, after you switched to Mac OS X from Windows​

Mac 101 - How to get started with Mac OS X​

Find out how - tutorial videos made by Apple on how to do certain thing in Mac OS X​