DVD region on MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by otispunkmeyer, Jun 15, 2007.

  1. otispunkmeyer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Middlesbrough UK
    #1
    just got my new SR MBP

    thought it odd that it had a american kb layout, but was pretty much all set for english gb on the menus

    tried a dvd and it spat me back to the desktop with a region code of the disc doesnt match the drive

    ummmm....what to i do? this is my first ever mac
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Where did you buy this MBP?

    Anyway, you should have the option to change the region of your DVD drive (I believe you have up to 5 changes).


    ...Just to make sure, what region code is the DVD you are trying to play?
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Unfortunately, the DVD players that go into the new Macs (Matshita) are not unlockable. They have a firmware setting on the drive that can not be changed and nobody has managed to change the firmware yet. Some people get 5 chances to change their region before it becomes permanently locked. I have always had mine locked at region 1.
     
  4. otispunkmeyer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Middlesbrough UK
    #4
    i found it :D

    yeah i get five tries, oddly when i went to the dvd player set up to change the region it was already on region 2

    but untill i clicked apply or whatever my casino royal with cheese wouldnt work.

    works great now thanks!

    just cant seem to install stuff now! illl get there tho
     
  5. issic macrumors member

    issic

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #5
    find your manufacture and type of DVD
    boot camp
    windows xp
    RCP free firmware http://forum.rpc1.org/portal.php
    update
    return to MacOsX

    (or try CrossOver or Parallel Desktop...don't know if works)
     
  6. Don't panic macrumors 603

    Don't panic

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Location:
    having a drink at Milliways
    #6
    g
    good to know.
    are these typically 'risky' procedures?
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    As I said before, nobody has managed yet. We all know that site here on MR.

    Search for Matshita 857 and be prepared to be disappointed.
     
  8. 2fives macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey BC
    #8
  9. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    You should be able to use Videolan to play DVDs without flashing. I have heard reports of the Mac version not working properly (something to do with OS X not allowing raw access to the drive or something), but if this is the case, you should be able to use the PC version OK in bootcamp/VMWare/Parallels.
     
  10. mojohojo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    #10
    i have not yet set a rregion for my dvd-rom.
    just wondering if i set to a specific region and insert a different region dvds - can i play them using VLC?
     
  11. gfreaky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #11
    I would be hesitant to flash my DVD drive in Parallels -- if one thing screws up, you could end up messing up your drive pretty bad. And I suppose you have a greater chance of something going wrong in Parallels :-/
     

Share This Page