DVD ripping software advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by edthehead, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. edthehead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #1
    So I bought my macBook a month ago, and want to rip and burn DVDs that I own, so I always have a back up. I did some research and the one program that kept coming up was mactheripper, which is no longer freeware. My question is should I shell out the 50 bucks for mactheripper 3.0 or is there a program that is a cheap alternative out there? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    MacTheRipper is still freeware.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #6
    MacTheRipper for ripping, and then Handbrake for compressing to whatever you want.
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #7
    And for DVDs, you can also use DVD2OneX.

    Using Windows in Bootcamp or via VMWare/Parallels?
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #9
    RipIt works for me with DVDs that MTR 3 couldn't rip.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    There's no way in hell I'm doing more Handbrake encoding on my MacBook. I have an overclocked quad core for that.
     
  10. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #11
    I don't understand why you'd need 2 different programs when handbrake does both.

    to be fair, I don't know much about mac the ripper.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    You're not limited to creating a queue of one disc. Rip the first disc and start the queue there. Keep ripping more and you can create a queue of multiple DVDs instead of swapping them.
     
  12. luiss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    #13
    Version 2.6.6 was the last "free" version. Newer versions require a "donation" to download.

    There are many DVDs that handbrake cannot rip, due anti-ripping features of some DVDs. Also, a tool like Mac the Ripper allows you to make a complete backup of your DVD (e.g. including menus, etc.).
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    Version 2.6.6. is the most current version, which is free. Donations are encouraged, but not required.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #15
    No, version 3.x is the most current version and it's not free.
     
  15. luiss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    #16
  16. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #17
    Ahhh makes sense

    You lost me here :/
     
  17. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #18
    If you use Handbrake solely, each time you finish ripping a disk you have to stick in a new one. If you rip, say, four DVDs with MTR, you can just queue them all up in Handbrake without having to be physically present at the computer to swap disks.
     
  18. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #19
    how would that work if I only have one CD ROM drive?
     
  19. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #20
    It won't work at all. ;) Fortunately for you, you have a drive that also reads DVDs, not just CDs. :D

    It's pretty simple:

    1. Collect stack of DVDs that you want to rip.
    2. Rip one DVD with MacTheRipper.
    3. Repeat Step 2 until all the DVDs have been ripped to your hard drive.
    4. Launch Handbrake and queue up each DVD image to convert.
    5. ???
    6. Profit! (kidding about step 5 and 6)

    In reality, the last step would be to wait for your encodes to finish, then to delete all of the DVD images and enjoy your new video files. :)

    I'd take some pictures for you but I'll be leaving shortly, so you'll have to ask someone else if you want any.
     
  20. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #21
    I gotcha! So ripping takes about how long w/ Mac the ripper?

    When I rip with Handbrake it also makes it available in iphone format, that's maybe why it takes 45 minutes?

    PS you know what I meant w/ the CD ROM drive :p
     
  21. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #22
    HandBrake doesn't just rip the DVD, it also converts it to a different format. MacTheRipper just rips the DVD to the hard drive, making a copy of the disc. To put a MTR rip on an iPod/iPhone, you'd have to convert it to a compatible format.
     
  22. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #23
    It takes about 20-40 minutes per disc depending on the capacity and drive speed. After my first disc is done I fire up Handbrake and just keep ripping more to add to the queue.

    Big 5.25" desktop drives with x20-22 read speeds are going to be the best.
     
  23. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #24
    you guys are awesome, I'm getting mac the ripper now :D
     
  24. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #25

    Well for me personally, I use MTR and Handbrake because the process is faster.
     

Share This Page