DVD studio pro play all button?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by bennetsaysargh, Jun 15, 2007.

  1. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    First question, is why doesn't this exist? second, I want a work around.

    Has anyone been able to do this without scripting? I can duplicate all of the tracks, but that's twice the encoding.

    Thanks in advance for any help!
    -Ryan
     
  2. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #2
    I'm not sure what you are asking, you want a button to just magically knows all the tracks on your DVD and play them in your desired order automatically? DVDSP is a great piece of software, but it can not read your mind. You will have to use scripting, or the end jump function on the individual track settings.

    This is the scenario:

    1. You have 4 tracks that you want to play back to back
    2. Take the first track and direct the end jump to the second track, take the sencond track and have it end jump to the third, etc,.
    3. Create a button that plays the first track (your PLAY ALL button), now when it reaches the end of each track it will automatically jump to the next, effectively playing all the tracks.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. bennetsaysargh thread starter macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    I guess I wasn't clear enough.
    I want them to be able to play on their own selection from the menu, but I also want to play all feature.
    Thanks.
     
  4. theWholeTruth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    #4
    Are you thinking of feature film DVD's where you have a Menu with individual scenes and a 'main movie' or 'play movie' button? If so, then you have to make Chapter Markers in your timeline and then point your menu buttons to these markers. To perform a 'Play All', just point that button to the first Chapter Marker. This is assuming you have all your video lined up in one track as opposed to several tracks.
     
  5. bennetsaysargh thread starter macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    No, I am working on my portfolio, and everything is in different tracks.
     
  6. theWholeTruth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    #7
    OK. Say you have 10 video clips. Put each clip into their own track and in your Menu, have 10 buttons that point to each individual track. Then for your 11th track, assemble ALL of your 10 video clips into whatever order you want. On your Menu, have a 'Play All' button that points to that track. There may be a different way to achieve this, but that would be how I do it; I'm no expert though.

    You can read the manual for more in depth info.
     
  7. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    You could always drop everything into a single FCP timeline and export it w/chapter markers.

    Slighty OT, but how long is your portfolio? In my experience the last thing anyone wants is to watch a long (more than 3-4min.) demo reel.


    Lethal
     
  8. AviationFan macrumors 6502a

    AviationFan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #9
    bennetsaysargh,

    to answer your first question: DVD Studio Pro cannot possibly know what assets you may want to play in what order. Just play all of them in the order they were imported rarely makes sense.

    As for your second question, if the individual pieces have been imported into separate tracks, live4ever's answer is the perfect solution (i.e. create stories). Look for the section named "Working with Stories" in chapter 11 ("Creating and Editing Tracks") of the DVD Studio Pro manual for all the details.

    - Martin
     
  9. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    I do this with scripts.

    Make your menu, as normal, with all your buttons for playing each scene individually.

    Then create a play all button. It directs to a small script that sets a GPRM register to 1, and then jumps to your first video.

    At the end of each of your individual videos, set it to jump to a small script (one for each video) that evaluates the GPRM. If it's set to one (playall was selected), jump to the next video. Otherwise (playall not selected), jump back to the menu.

    You should also have a prescript for your menu that always sets the GPRM back to 0, so that it's not stuck on "play all" after you've chosen it once.
     
  10. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #11
    Since typing the instructions here is out of the question, check this out. :cool:
     
  11. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    ben ben ben....

    the others have pointed you in your way, but honestly..this is something basic and covered in the manual and tutorials.....
     
  12. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #13
    I thought RTFM might be a little harsh. hehe. :D
     

Share This Page