DVD transfer on MAC

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by dangerouslymood, Jan 20, 2010.

1. dangerouslymood macrumors newbie

Hi! I am new to MAC and new to this forum. I have been looking for this answer but can't quite find it...please help. If this double posted, sorry, my computer (PC) at work is giving me problems! LOL

I have some old VHS that i transfered to DVD on a machine made for that. The DVD will play on my MAC and I have tried to copy the DVD to another DVD but the new DVDs will not play on the MAC or on DVD player...I followed the directions I found in the "help section" of the MAC--it had me copy the disc image in Disc Utility and then burn the DVD...i think the file type comes up as a dmg...??

Is there another way to do this that I am missing? I was told you could do this with the MAC and that was a major selling point for me!! Thanks!!

2. spice weasel macrumors 65816

When you copied your DVD, how exactly did you do it? A playable DVD is different from a data DVD. You need to keep the VIDEO_TS folder structure intact, and you need to burn it as a UDF (universal disk format). You can use software such as Roxio Toast for this.

3. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

When you use Disk utility to copy a video or data DVD to your HDD, you also need to use Disk Utility to burn the resulting .dmg file (Disk IMage).
    The file alone is useless, if burnt to a DVD that shall be played back on a video DVD player, as a video DVD has a certain structure, as the spice weasel already mentioned.

Also MRoogle (my signature) will give you plenty of threads about how to properly copy video DVDs, even a web search engine will spit out a guide or many more.

4. dangerouslymood thread starter macrumors newbie