DVI in on Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by waywardsage, Oct 20, 2007.

  1. waywardsage macrumors 6502

    waywardsage

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    Does the DVI port on the Macbook pro allow you to use it as a DVI-Input for high resolution input? I was just curious. I couldn't find it anywhere online.
     
  2. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  3. waywardsage thread starter macrumors 6502

    waywardsage

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #3
    Don't you think it would be a good idea? You could connect an HD DVD/BluRay player to get top resolution.

    I'm a video professional. And I think that it would be cool if there were some way I could input HD into the Macbook Pro.
     
  4. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #4
    That would make exactly one of you.

    I'm not sure of any laptops that permit other inputs to be displayed on the built-in display. At least, not without the computer's intervention. For that purpose, it's generally cheaper to just get a DVI-IN LCD panel.
     
  5. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
  6. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #6
    For HD video... most use FW800 don't they? They would use an intermediate box that had lots of inputs (including HDMI/DVI) that then went over FW800.
     

Share This Page