DVI KVM Switch... which to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by vaderhater245, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. vaderhater245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #1
    I use a basic kvm switch for usb right now but I want to upgrade very soon to a full dvi version so I can stop pressing 3-4 buttons to switch from my MBP to PC. I want to purchase a decent one but I've seen mixed reviews on the dvi switchers. I would like to keep the price under $250. Any help would be great! I use a Samsung T260HD display, Razer Lycosa, and Logitech G9.
     
  2. vaderhater245 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #2
    is this where i go to post this even? no replies. lol
     
  3. mgridgaway macrumors 6502

    mgridgaway

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #3
    Well this is a forum for buying Apple hardware, etc, but most people don't adhere to that so you're ok.

    Anyway, to answer your question, it would probably be easier and much faster to go to newegg, look up DVI KVM switches, and find out which one has the best reviews.
     
  4. FieryFurnace macrumors 6502

    FieryFurnace

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #4
  5. vaderhater245 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #5
    i actually looked at that one on there. Unfortunately it says in the specs that the video resolution only goes up to 1600x1200. I'm looking for one that drives my lcd's native 1920x1200 on both PC and Mac.
     
  6. Derek87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #6
    http://welovemacs.com/kvm201d2u2afc.html

    this is the one i've used for the past few years at work...probably can find it cheaper elsewhere? but it works as advertised with my Macpro and either a Windoze or Linuxbox and a 23" cinema display. (i haven't used the microphone or audio functionality, so can't vouch for that)
     
  7. vaderhater245 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #7
    thats actually really funny, switch out that ACD with my samsung and thats exactly what i want to do with it. I expect to get a mac pro this summer to pair with a Custom Built PC using that Antec 900 case. perfect choice. thanks alot!
     
  8. FieryFurnace macrumors 6502

    FieryFurnace

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #8
    Those descriptions seem to be outdated on some websites.
    My 22" uses 1680x1050 without any problems.

    Check the manufacturer's website, it says up to 1920x1200:
    http://www.iogear.com/product/GCS932U/

    Someone at newegg customer reviews says that he runs it with 1920x1200 also.
     
  9. rtheb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #9
    I've been using the Iogear GCS1762 for three years to switch between my Sony VAIO desktop and MacBook using a single Westy 37" LVM-37w3se Monitor at 1920 x 1080 without a hitch.

    I bought a Belkin initially but it was a total bust, so I returned it, bought the Iogear and it has functioned flawlessly.

    Specifications indicate it supports 1920 x 1200 as well.

    Newegg has them on sale for $129.99.

    I paid over $200.00 but worth it in the long run. :cool:
     

Share This Page