DVI on macbook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Epstein, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. Epstein macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #1
    just got a monitor

    wanna hook my macbook pro from 2006 to a dvi monitor

    cant find the right connector on apple.com

    looks like i need a dvi-i to dvi-d

    any help? anyone else do this?
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Just buy any DVI cable and it will work. The MBP uses regular DVI, like any other system.

    TEG
     
  3. Epstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #3
    So DVI-D is ok??

    cause the way the MBP looks i need this plug [​IMG]

    but all i can find are these

    [​IMG]
     
  4. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #4
    dvi-d is for higher resolution monitors. I have one for my 30 inches dell, and can run the macbook pro at 2560x1600

    I think you can use them for any res tho, it will downgrade etc.

    But dont quote me on that :p
     
  5. Epstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #5
    i think you might mean DVI i dunno


    but a DVI-D to DVI-D cable is ok to use for macbook pro?
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    DVI-D carries only digital signal (yes it'll work)

    DVI-I carries both integrated analogue and digital signal

    DVI DUAL LINK (some of you confused this with DVI-D) carries more signal, but only useful for a >2000 dpi monitors.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface

    MacBook Pro can connect to all of those (digital, analogue, dual link digital)
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    But if you have the monitor from recent years get a DVI-D cable that way the monitor doesn't do any analog to digital conversions (not to say it would, but ...)
     
  8. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #8
    DVI-I or DVI-D works. Those extra 4 pins around the bar are for the DVI-A/VGA signal so that you can use your system on an older monitor or on a TV.

    TEG
     
  9. mckeeimages macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #9
    30" Dell and Macbook pro... Tell me more

    Hi,
    Tell me how you did it.. I have just got a used 30" dell and can not get native res from it...
    What am I doing wrong.. I have a DVI to DVI are there different standards of DVI.
    My Dell has a DVI-D and the MBP has, well you know what the MAC has..

    Thanks for any pointers you can give me...
     

Share This Page