DVI splitter doesn't work how I expected....

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by peanutismint, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. peanutismint macrumors 6502

    peanutismint

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    #1
    Hi there; I use my Macbook Pro with both an external monitor on my desk and also with a projector in my room. When I want to watch something on my projector, I have to unplug the DVI cable going to the monitor and plug the display output into my projector, which is causing wear on the pins etc.

    I bought a DVI y-split cable (you know, one DVI port on one end going to two DVI ports on the other), but it doesn't really work; sometimes the monitor will detect the display, sometimes it won't - I assume they're not really meant to be used this way. Nevertheless, I'd still like to achieve this somehow, so I decided to look for a DVI 'switcher', or something into which I could plug my one input and two outputs. The only switches I found, however, seem to contain two inputs and one output, your standard KVM switcher for switching between two systems with the one display....

    Any idea if what I want is achievable? Is it a power issue, i.e. the MBP's display output isn't powerful enough to drive both screens at once? To re-iterate, it does work some of the time, but I find I have to unplug the projector before the Mac notices the external display, and then when I plug the projector back in again they both work..... weird!!
     
  2. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #2
    Im wondering this as well. I also want to achieve something like this. I understand there is the dual head to go solutions, but those are pricey, and Aren't exactly what Im looking for.
     
  3. peanutismint thread starter macrumors 6502

    peanutismint

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    #3
    Yeah, because as I understand it, they're actually basically graphics cards that support HUGE resolutions, basically allowing your 'singe external display' (as far as the Mac knows) to actually be the size of three monitors, each of which gets its own output from the box.

    See what I want to do is different - I just want to have the SAME output but sent to two displays at the same time, which this cable does achieve, but only after a bit of fiddling........ It doesn't even have to be on both screens at the same time (hence looking for a 'switch') but I can't seem to find any.....??
     
  4. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #4
    Yea, thats exactly how the Dual or Triple head to go's work. Your basically just looking to mirror the displays, correct?

    As for me, I'm looking to be able to hook up to two external displays, that aren't "acting as one", or mirroring each other.
     
  5. peanutismint thread starter macrumors 6502

    peanutismint

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    #5
    That's right. Which this cable does! Just not 'permanently'. Which sucks!

    If it is a power issue, I'm wondering if there's any 'powered' splitter cable....?
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  7. peanutismint thread starter macrumors 6502

    peanutismint

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    #7
    Hmm good find, thanks, but no - for instance, the cable I bought was around $10. I'm sure they must come cheaper than that.

    Like I was saying, I'm not bothered about having both external displays appear at the same time, so theoretically I shouldn't need a powered solution, just something that would switch the feed from one output to another.... I might just crack out the soldering iron and retro-fit a VGA switchbox with DVI ports.....
     
  8. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #8
    Have you looked at powered HDMI splitters, like this one from monoprice: http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10113&cs_id=1011301&p_id=5418&seq=1&format=2

    HDMI can be converted to DVI with an adaptor.

    If you can't find a proper solution, at the very least you could get a short DVI male to female extension cable that you leave permanently attached to your computer. That should eliminate any risk of the pins wearing out from over use.
     
  9. peanutismint thread starter macrumors 6502

    peanutismint

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    #9
    Interesting....will bear this in mind! Thanks! :)
     
  10. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #10
  11. ale500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #11
    Nah, that's two inputs to one output...

    from the site you mentioned :(
     
  12. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #12
    Oops... sorry about that. I found the link on another forum (AVS) and didn't read close enough. I wonder if it would work in reverse?
     

Share This Page