DVI switchbox for 30" ACD?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kudukudu, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. kudukudu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    Can anyone make a recommendation on a DVI switchbox that will allow me to run a macbook pro and Mac Pro on the same 30" apple cinema display?
     
  2. Joe Bannon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
  3. kudukudu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #3
  4. kudukudu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #4
  5. Joe Bannon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #5
    It's just a switch, how can it know what resolution is being used?! -lol
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    It's not as simple as just electronically connecting the wires when the switch is changed. The switch must interrogate the display DDL and then present the same DDL continuously to all attached computers to prevent them thinking the screen is being disconnected then reconnected.

    It needs to support dual-link connections. Dual-link requires significantly faster circuitry to support the passing through of the signal so switches will be much more expensive.
     
  7. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I'm not aware of a DVI switch that can handle dual-link displays (and I've been looking). No doubt they're on the way, but that doesn't help right now...:(
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    The Belkin one linked above explicitly states it's dual-link capable. :confused:
     
  9. Joe Bannon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #9


    Ah, that explains it. Thanks!
     

Share This Page