dynamically loading the program

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by amanbvp, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. amanbvp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #1
    hi all,

    how can a implement the my code to be loaded dynamically when ever required by the application and unload it when its work is over. Is this possible on iphone if so how can we implement it.
     
  2. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #2
    AFAIK, the only way to unload code is to unload a bundle which would contain the code you want to run. But the iPhone SDK doesn't support bundles/frameworks, so I don't think it's possible.
     
  3. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3
    Check the SDK rules. Dynamically loadable executable code (other than the OS frameworks?) doesn't look like it's allowed by Apple.
     
  4. DipDog3 macrumors 65816

    DipDog3

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    #4
    You need to explain further what you are wanting to do.

    From first glance I would have to agree with everyone else, and say that it would not be allowed.
     
  5. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #5
    It's also probably a pointless thing to worry about unless you have some super memory hog code, which probably doesn't belong on the iPhone to begin with.
     
  6. amanbvp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #6
    Hi,
    Actually i am interested in implementing DLL type of code as used on windows platform that can be loaded dynamically.


    Thanks for the reply.
     

Share This Page