DYNDNS on Airport Extreme - Does this solution work?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by keeper, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. keeper macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    Found this on the internet, just wondering if anyone is using this method when using an airport extreme as a router and forwarding to ports?

    Setup (AirPort Utility v6.x):
    AirPort Utility > Select the base station > Edit > Internet > Internet Options...
    Use dynamic global hostname (checked)
    Hostname: dyndns.com
    User: <enter your DynDNS user account name>
    Password: <enter your DynDNS user account password>
    Click "Save."
    Disks tab > Enable file sharing (checked)
    Click "Update."
    To access the AirPort Disk:
    OS X: Finder > Go > Connect to Server > Server Address: <your DynDNS Global Host Name>


    Many Thanks Phil
     
  2. priitv8, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    priitv8 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #2
    AirPort and Time Capsule with Dynamic DNS support page from dyn.com

    But even by these instructions, I couldn't get dynDNS working for me.
    That was back when they still had the free service. Now I've moved over to no-ip.com, but my DDNS updates still don't come from AirPort.

    PS You can set up wide-area access to your AirPort Disk (and Macs and printers) much easier with just enabling the iCloud Back to my Mac feature on your AirPort and Macs. The only caveat is, that your AirPort needs to be the external router. If you have your ISP's router inbetween, BtmM won't work.
    If you have more than 1 AirPort (e.g. others in the bridge mode) sharing resources (disk, printer), you also need to log those AirPorts in to iCloud.

    Apple Support: Set up and use Back to My Mac
     
  3. keeper thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #3
    OK thanks.

    I was planning to just use my ISP router as an ADSL modem, and use the AE as the router.

    I'm not quite sure how I then configure apps on my iPhone to me able the use back to my mac.

    More research to do...
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    What exactly are you trying to do? If the modem is in Bridge Mode then you will have no problems using Back To My Mac. Dynamic DNS is not supported as of 7.6.1 according to their knowledge base article.
     
  5. keeper thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #5
    I was planning to use the APE as the router with dyndns and dhcp configured, looks like is a lot easier to leave my existing router doing that and leave the APE in bridged mode.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6

    If you do that, the AirPort will act as a dumb AP. That is fine and will work fine with the other router and DynDNS.
     
  7. priitv8 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #7
    And iOS still does not know anything about BtmM.
    The only way to share files between iOS and Macs over WAN is the iCloud Drive.
    Also, you could use standard file server connection (AFP or SMB/CIFS) over WAN, but then you will need a 3rd party iOS app to act as a client, as iOS does not have such feature built in.
     

Share This Page