E7-8880L in 2013 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dannys1, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. dannys1 macrumors 68020

    dannys1

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    So I can't see anything online about this and I know OWC doesn't carry this chip as an upgrade yet (maybe because they can't get stock?) but anyone know if the new Intel XEON E7-8880L would work in the 2013 Mac Pro? I've had a customer contact me about it, so yeah, i'm personally not bothered about performance, its silly amount of cores etc, I literally just want to know could you actually swap this thing out and the machine would work?

    Here are its specs
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Xeon/Intel-Xeon E7-8880L v3.html

    Its Socket 2011 / LGA2011 just like the original chip, its the same size and it actually draws 15w LESS power, so heat/power shouldn't be an issue. So is the logic board equipped to see it?? (is OS X equipped to see it?? I know there wont be any apps that make use of 18 cores, but i'm sure these guys just want bragging rights, or are writing their own software maybe)
     
  2. kennyman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #2

    Hello,

    Sorry, the E7-8880L v3 requires LGA 2011-v3. ILM keying and the circuitry prevents it from being compatible with LGA 2011 (2013 Mac Pro)
     
  3. dannys1 thread starter macrumors 68020

    dannys1

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Perfect, thanks Kennyman!
     
  4. arfarf77, Oct 21, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2018

    arfarf77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    #4
    What about the Intel Xeon E7-8880L v2 (15x 2.2GHz), SR1GS / LGA2011-1?

    (I noticed that its RAM speed is 'only' DDR3-1600, compared to DDR-1866 of the 12core version, the E5-2697 v2)

    EDIT2: Okay, forget my post :) The E7-8880L v2 has got only 32 PCIe lanes, compared to 40 of the E5-2697 v2 et al. That’s not enough …
     
  5. AidenShaw, Oct 21, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2018

    AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #5
    The MP6,1 uses the E5-16xx-v2 and E5-26xx-v2 processors. These are single (16xx) and dual-capable (26xx) cpus, using the "6" series socket.

    cpu-number.jpg

    E7 and E3 CPUs won't work. E5-46xx-v2 use the same socket, but are unlikely to work.

    In addition to the issue of socket compatibility, the system BIOS has to understand how to initialize the CPU. The MP6,1 BIOS probably can't initialize quad socket CPUs. This may be because the BIOS doesn't understand - or simply that the BIOS checks the CPU model and refuses to even try if the model isn't "blessed".
     

Share This Page

4 July 15, 2015