EA System Information utility says MBP has 512MB video Ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sikkinixx, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    I just installed Sim City 4 on my XP partition of my SR MBP and noticed when I ran the System Information Utility that it says the Macbook has 512mb of video ram. I know it doesn't since in Mac OS it tells me 128mb.

    It's a little odd.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #2
    its probably a feature similar to what was introduced with turbocache. Basically nvidia drivers can take additional ram (albeit slower) to bump up the graphics ram. Similar to the onboard video cards. My nvidia 6150 onboard graphics says 512meg in use yet its only set to 256meg.
     
  3. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
  4. A Pittarelli macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #4
    you can just play pretend and think that you have 512 if it makes you feel any better
     
  5. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #5
    Apple just shipped me the future version prototype is all :D
     
  6. A Pittarelli macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007

Share This Page