Early 2008 Macbook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Bom, Mar 29, 2012.

1. Bom, Mar 29, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2012

Bom macrumors newbie

Hey everyone, I was just wondering if it's worth it to buy Early '08 MB? I've found the ad on Kijiji for $300 and he has upgraded the ram to 4gb, I have to give him a HDD to put lion on (I have an extra one laying around). Basically I'm wondering if it will be able to do tasks like editing or rending videos/movies (that I'll be making on the computer if I buy it), and playing/streaming 1080p videos. Thanks in advance! :)

Ps: Sorry I'm a newbie on this fourm

2. simsaladimbamba

You can put Lion it yourself, but I guess the seller does not have the grey Restore DVDs anymore (which only contain Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard) or the Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard Upgrade DVD.
    That MB can take up to 6 GB RAM, it will be okay for editing video (again depending on what format the footage comes in and what editing application you will use) if you use an editing codec/format and not highly compressed footage. Rendering (depending on what you want to render) is doable, not very fast though).
    1080p content can be played back via that MB, I had that model myself, but 1080p Flash content (YouTube, Vimeo) might be choking the sucker.

3. Bom thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, so do you think it's worth the $300? It's only 13.3" and I assume within the next year it'll be outdated/obsolete, should I just buy a newer model?

4. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k