Early 2008 processor question.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by undarious07, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. undarious07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #1
    Hey all,

    I know that there is a firmware hack for the 2009 3,1 Mac Pros that turns them into "4,1"s and allows 1333 MHz ram and 6 core processors.

    My question is, what is the best processor I can put in a 2008 Mac Pro and am I stuck with 1066 MHz ram?

    Can I put any LGA771 socket processor in it or will only certain ones work on 10.9?
     
  2. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
    Short answer - No.

    The only upgrades you can make to the O8 machines are from the same proc group. The 2.8 GHz, 3.0GHz and the 3.2GHz chips.

    We bought those machines on the tock side of the programme. So although we got the best bang for buck from any of the MacPro's we were unable to upgrade the CPU's.

    The highest CPU option you could go for would be 3.2 GHz Quad Core 45-nm Intel Xeon X5482.
     
  3. undarious07 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #3
    Gotcha, that was about what I figured.


    Appreciate the quick answer!
     
  4. brand, Jan 26, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2014

    brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    There is no such thing as a 2009 3,1 Mac Pro and what you are describing about is physically not possible.

    [EDIT]It was brought to my attention that I typed 2209 instead of 2009 so I corrected it.
     
  5. undarious07 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #5
    Thanks for the uselessly unhelpful reply after somebody already answered my question.
     
  6. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    They answered your question and I corrected you. It was not useless or unhelpful since it was correcting the misinformation that you thought you "knew". I hope you don't respond this way every time someone corrects you.
     
  7. undarious07 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #7
    Wow.... I made a typo saying 3,1 instead of 4,1 and you made a huge issue out of it. I see your visitor message about sarcastic unhelpful comments in the past. Must just be your personality.


    If we're talking mountains out of typos, you said "2209" when I said 2009. You're just as bad as I am in your world.

    Again, thank you for the response but G4DP answered my question previously.
     
  8. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    If it was a typo and you meant to type 4,1 then why would you need to turn a 4,1 into a 4,1 since it would already be a 4,1?

    I made a typo as you pointed out but I don't believe that yours was in fact a typo given the point I just made.

    Thanks for pointing out my mistake of typing 2209 instead of 2009. I have corrected that post to read 2009 for future reference.
     
  9. jeeplj8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    #9
    you got me all excited, but alas it is the 4.1 that can be upgraded to 5.1, etc, not the 3.1.

    I am not sure what you have, but if it is a 3.1, I looked at adding a couple of the 3.2 processors. You can buy a pair on ebay for around 300, but the speed gain is pretty negligible. that money would better spent toward finding a 5.1 machine.
     

Share This Page