"Early 2009" iMac 4GB --> 8GB

Discussion in 'iMac' started by topmounter, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. topmounter macrumors 68020

    topmounter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    FEMA Region VIII
    #1
    I have an "Early 2009" iMac (24" w/ 2.93 C2D) and I just realized that I can upgrade the DDR3 RAM to 8GB (4x2) from 4GB (2x2). I'm running Lion in 64-bit mode. Until I saw the specs on support.apple.com, I was under the impression that 4GB was the max for this model.

    Will 8GB of RAM make any difference on this generation of hardware?

    Would this improve Aperture's performance?
     
  2. zigzagg321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    the wire
    #2
    yes, and yes. Theres no such thing as too much RAM.
     
  3. topmounter thread starter macrumors 68020

    topmounter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    FEMA Region VIII
    #3
    Sounds good... for some reason I was thinking there was some sort of chipset limitation on this generation of iMac.
     
  4. Sandman1969 macrumors 6502a

    Sandman1969

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #4
    Wish my mid 2007 2.8 Extreme could go to 8GB :(

    Guess they changed the chipset. Still has most of the same features. Just 4gb max.
     
  5. topmounter thread starter macrumors 68020

    topmounter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    FEMA Region VIII
    #5
    I wish I would have realized this sooner... ~$45 for 8GB of RAM is a no-brainer.
     
  6. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #6
    I upped mine to 8GB a while ago (it was more than $45 then)....it's great for running virtual machines. I have a Lion guest with 4GB RAM assigned on my Snow Leopard host OS - which still leaves 4GB for the host OS....both run great.
     
  7. Vantage Point macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    8Gb can make a huge difference when using programs like Aperture. Not counting apples inflated prices, back in late 2009 2 x 4GB Ram sticks cost at least $600 from online vendors. A year ago it was $130 and today about $45.

    Used your activity monitor to help gauge how much RAM you use - I use both Aperture and Photoshop, mostly Photoshop and I often use up all my RAM
     

    Attached Files:

  8. lexvo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    I use Lightroom for photo editing and with the Canon 5DII RAW files, my RAM usage quickly jumps over 5GB. Glad I installed 8GB :)
     
  9. topmounter thread starter macrumors 68020

    topmounter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    FEMA Region VIII
    #9
    The extra 4GB of RAM made an immediate and noticeable improvement in overall system performance as well as within Aperture itself.

    8GB of RAM is the new 4GB of RAM which was the new 2GB of RAM.

    $45 well spent.
     
  10. sundog925 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    #10
    I have an iMac early 2009 20 inch and just installed 2x4 GB 1333mhz sticks and its blazingly fast. How can I tell if these sticks are under clocked to 1066mhz or running at full 1333mhz?
     
  11. intensem1dh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #11
    Where did you get it for 45.00? I need to upgrade mine to 8!
     
  12. Sandman1969, Dec 20, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2011

    Sandman1969 macrumors 6502a

    Sandman1969

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #12
  13. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #13
    'About This Mac' -> 'More Info' will tell you how much RAM is recognized and the speed.
     
  14. deh2121 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #14
    16gb of ram

    can anyone tell me if i can but 16gb of ram in the early 2009 24" imac
     
  15. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #15
    No....you can't or I would have.
     
  16. nitramwin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #16
    How's your experience with Yosemite?

    Hi everyone,

    In case you're still using the iMac from back in '09 and have Yosemite installed, could you give me some insight into how the 8GB are holding up in the machine? I am currently at 5GB (thinking of moving towards the max) and while the computer remains responsive if two user accounts are open and only limited tabs are open, things go down to a crawl once more than 5 tabs are opened on each. Your thoughts are appreciated!
     

Share This Page